Dry Pack For Laying Porcelain Tile On Exterior Patio - Tiling - Contractor Talk

Dry Pack For Laying Porcelain Tile On Exterior Patio

Old 09-04-2015, 10:23 AM   #1

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 6

Dry Pack For Laying Porcelain Tile On Exterior Patio

Hi everyone,

-I am new to Contractor Talk. I read the posts and find them to be very insightful and that is why I decided to join.

THE PROJECT'S BACKGROUND
-The project that I am working on is the construction of a patio that is about 20 x 25 ft. The project is being carried out in Toronto-Canada where we experience sub zero temperatures in winter. The soil also freezes during that time.
- It was initially planned to lay pavers on the patio. That would include digging and putting a 4 to 6 inch gravel base by compacting crushed stones (mix of stone and screening). Then I would have laid over the gravel base a layer of 1-1/2" of screening (sand) as a bed for the paving stones.

-THE PROBLEM
The project took another direction when the customer wanted to have porcelain tiles laid instead of pavers.

- THE QUESTION: I am still going to keep the compacted gravel base to have a solid foundation for the patio but instead of laying a plain layer of screening/sand over the gravel base, will laying a "dry pack" (a mixture of 3 parts sand and 1 part Portland cement with some water added to it to make it sticky enough just to make a ball with the hand) provide a good support for laying the porcelain tile?

- THE CONCERN: I have seen people laying tiles on dry pack on YouTtube but that was for interior floorings. Does anyone have any insight about laying porcelain tile on dry pack on a patio that will undergo the harsh winter condition?

- If the dry pack method of installing porcelain tile is not appropriate for exterior project that are subject to winter conditions, what are the other solutions?

- Thanks a lot for your help.

Kyong