General Home Improvement License In Hillsborough County, Florida - Contractor Licensing - Contractor Talk

General Home Improvement License In Hillsborough County, Florida

Old 01-13-2013, 06:33 PM   #1
Majeztic

Trade: Home Improvement Professional
Rewards Points: 10

General Home Improvement License In Hillsborough County, Florida

Hello everyone. I am looking for clarification on contractor licensing in Hillsborough County, Florida.

I have looked into licensing in the past and unfortunately I am not eligible because I do not have 4 years experience working under a licensed contractor. I have 16 years experience, 7 working for others and 9 working for myself, unfortunately my prior experience was not working for a "licensed" contractor.

On the DBPR website, it clearly states that "Paint, install cabinets, wood or tile flooring, and insulation regardless of compensation." does not require a license. In addition, my Hillsborough County business tax is for cabinet installation, tile work, painting, drywall, and trim carpentry which, according to the tax collector, does not require county licensing.

So...

1.) What types of jobs am I legally allowed to do without being licensed?

2.) With the exception of having a licensed contractor qualify my business and/or going back to work for a licensed contractor for 4 years to gain the experience, are there any other methods available to be eligible to obtain a contractor's license?

I appreciate your time in reading this and I thank you in advance for any responses.

Last edited by Majeztic; 02-18-2013 at 09:04 AM.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-13-2013, 06:55 PM   #2