Steep Slope Grading - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

Steep Slope Grading

Old 05-18-2007, 08:16 PM   #1
New Guy

Rewards Points: 10

Steep Slope Grading

I'm a home builder who has run an international 125e (1980 or so vintage) track loader for years digging basements, building roads, sometimes logging, but never had such a steep lot as I have now. I've also run excavators up to 200 size (not an expert), but never a dozer. I need to grade a 200 ft. x 100 ft slope in fill to 50% grade. I benched it with the track loader and now need to move material from the top to get a smooth slope and compact it. Can you excavation guys offer any advice on equipment & procedure? If my track loader will even go up a 50% slope it would be so slow as to be practically useless. Will a dozer go up & down such a slope? Will it traverse?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 05-19-2007, 05:09 AM   #2
Vagitarian

Trade: site and utility contractor
Rewards Points: 2,388

Re: Steep Slope Grading

Dozers will go up steep slopes alot better than a loader. The grouses on a dozer grab better than the loader pads. I don't suggest taking a loader up a steep slope with a empty bucket because most loaders have a rear counterweight. Very easy to flip them over.