Recommendation For Digging Foundation - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

Recommendation For Digging Foundation

Old 09-27-2018, 06:27 PM   #1

Trade: Landscaping
Rewards Points: 16

Recommendation For Digging Foundation

So I'm a newbie. I've done some work with a skidsteer and a mini-ex when I was redoing my backyard. Couple days with a rental unit, but I'm a newbie (I did pop my "crashed into the house with a skidsteer" cherry though...)

Anyway, the wife and I are building a Guest House. Here in Tucson that's generally slab on grade, but we live on the side of a mountain, so I'm estimating there's going to be about 300 yards of dirt that need to move around (along with a bunch of mesquite trees that need to be pulled up). There's some 3-4k pound boulders that'll need dragging/moving. Plus there's a 30' long 4' deep trench that needs to be dug for a drainage culvert. I'm actually considering just purchasing a used piece of equipment from Craigslist, drive it around for a few weeks/months, and then try to resell it. Having a heavy piece of equipment around during construction would be nice. I've got a budget of about $15k.

So, I'm wondering a few things. First, am I crazy? Next, what piece of equipment should I get? I initially thought of a small 42" bucket skid steer , (a guy here locally is selling a S630 for $12k) but I guess I'm not sure about how well a standard bucket without forks is at digging virgin dirt with lots of rocks. Would I need a mini-ex to break up the ground? Plus I'd end up having to dig the trench by hand. Not really that big a deal, but still.

Then I thought about maybe a tractor/baby backhoe. A guy I know will sell me a Kubota L48 for $11K. That would seem to be versatile, but a lot more unwieldy as it's so much longer than a skid steer, and I don't think its bucket capacities would be as great.