Opinion On Wheel Loader - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

Opinion On Wheel Loader

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2012, 05:59 AM   #1
Precision 10
 
Precision10's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, site work, demolition and, trenching
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ludington
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 81

Opinion On Wheel Loader


I need to get a wheel loader and was wondering what one to get.I'm looking at a deere 544. How does this this compare to Komatsu WA250,cat 928,case 621?
Precision10 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-18-2012, 09:45 AM   #2
Pro
 
Moxley-Kidwell's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation & Asphalt Paving
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 555
Rewards Points: 286

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


We used to have a 544 and a 928 in an old company. Both were fine the 544 was probably 10 years older than the cat but was just as good. We've had real good luck with our Deere stuff. When they were sold the JD was approx. 20 yrs old with no blow by while the cat sprayed oil out a good bit. I have no experience with Case or Komatsu loaders.

Advertisement

Moxley-Kidwell is offline  
Old 05-18-2012, 06:00 PM   #3
Vagitarian
 
rino1494's Avatar
 
Trade: site and utility contractor
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas, PA
Posts: 3,589
Rewards Points: 2,388

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


IMO, they are pretty much all the same. I would chose what dealer can service you the best. When you are down, parts are key.
__________________
Life is hard. It is harder when you are stupid

Uncle Sam wants YOU....to speak ENGLISH
rino1494 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2012, 08:10 PM   #4
Registered User
 
cdp excavating's Avatar
 
Trade: pro
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


I have used deere 544 and komatsu wa250 and loved the komatsu the best lots of power and fast great machine.
cdp excavating is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 03:05 PM   #5
Stud
 
Upchuck's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mass
Posts: 605
Rewards Points: 660

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


We have a 544. Never had any problems with it. We own mostly Deere because the dealer is close. Don't think you'll go wrong with any of those brands you named.
Upchuck is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 05:54 PM   #6
operator
 
peteo's Avatar
 
Trade: excavating, concrete, landscaping
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erie, Pa
Posts: 394
Rewards Points: 518

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


I've run all three. Honestly the Komatsu is a nice, fast machine but it kind of beats you up imo. The Deere is a Deere and the Case, as much as I hate Case equipment is probably the most reliable. We have two old Case loaders at my job, I think they're 821's, but they run strong and rarely break down. They're big and ugly for sure but they are very reliable.
peteo is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 11:33 PM   #7
Pro
 
Kgmz's Avatar
 
Trade: General, Electrical, and Plumbing Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portland, OR & Eatonville, WA
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


Quote:
Originally Posted by rino1494 View Post
IMO, they are pretty much all the same. I would chose what dealer can service you the best. When you are down, parts are key.
Same thoughts.

We currently own a Cat 928G and have had it for quite a few years now, and basically zero problems. The only thing I can think of having to fix was to replace one of the electric solenoids on the transmission. Quick and easy fix.

Know some other contractors that own the Deere and Komatsu. And I do have to agree with Peteo on the Komatsu.
Kgmz is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Kgmz For This Useful Post:
peteo (05-20-2012)
Old 05-20-2012, 08:25 AM   #8
Pro
 
HUI's Avatar
 
Trade: Utility, sitework, and erosion control contractor
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Plymouth, IN
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 178

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


Volvo loaders are very good also. Their pins and bushings seem to last forever. What series of loaders are you looking at? The newer komatsu loaders are hydrostatic. They are more fuel efficient than the older ones
HUI is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 12:02 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Soil Solutions's Avatar
 
Trade: Environmental Dredging and Residential Excavating
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


Definatly like the volvo loaders. They are very quiet and have a strong engine. I like the bucket controls the best in those also. Overall you cant go wrong with any of them. I would choose the one with the closest dealer.
Soil Solutions is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 01:45 PM   #10
Member
 
Robs660's Avatar
 
Trade: Commercial modular
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 81

Re: Opinion On Wheel Loader


Volvo or Komatsu would be my picks as long as there is a good dealer around. Not a big cat, Deere, case fan. If you have a couple dealers around most will give you a machine for a week or so to convince you to buy theirs. This is the best way to choose.

Advertisement

Robs660 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a wheel loader in Chicagoland scrapecc Excavation & Site Work 0 02-06-2011 07:35 PM
Concrete stamping opinion TPDATLANTA Concrete & Paving 8 11-23-2010 09:36 PM
Looking for any Northern California Contractors opinion????? rsuma11 Marketing & Sales 3 03-05-2010 06:56 PM
wheel loader JRB quick coupler rebuild dayexco Excavation & Site Work 3 02-06-2010 10:48 AM
Need some feed back guys . . . Dually vs Single rear wheel. MEI MRG MM Vehicles 6 01-22-2006 03:21 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?