How To Prepare For Commercial Jobs - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

How To Prepare For Commercial Jobs

Old 01-28-2015, 01:20 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Excavating
Rewards Points: 390

How To Prepare For Commercial Jobs

Hi guys, I'm just starting out with my excavation company, and I want to look into different avenues different than where my knowledge is. Currently I offer land clearing, ponds, pond overflow systems, drainage systems and similar stuff like that, but I want to get into some site work.

I am not familiar with site work, the troubles, different types, I wouldn't mind even going into residential site work, but I just don't know where to start. Is there any resources out there or advice to help me out?

Thanks guys!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-28-2015, 08:10 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: entrepreneur of excavating expertise
Rewards Points: 176

Re: How To Prepare For Commercial Jobs

my best learning tool was the school of hard knocks. know your costs, how to read/prepare proposals, your limits, know when to walk away from some jobs. roll with the punches.

Advertisement

Old 01-28-2015, 08:25 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Pro Cat Herder
Rewards Points: 1,700

If I were you I'd find a small/medium excavator that does a lot of site work/utility work and see if they need a sub with a mini (or whatever you have). Offer them a really good rate, and a good rate to be the ditch bitch.

The best way to learn the utility work is by helping someone who knows what they are doing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2015, 09:23 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Excavation & Asphalt Paving
Rewards Points: 286