Enough Torque? - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

Enough Torque?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2009, 02:45 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Jacqueri's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Enough Torque?


Construction in general is a novel topic to me and I was wondering if I could get some information from someone more knowledgable than I am. I had a discussion with a friend about the pulling capacity of a bulldozer (A situation with a mutual friend of ours, long story). The overall question is whether or not a John Deere 550G would be capable of pulling a loaded dump truck (around 70,000 lbs max), that was stuck in sand, out of it? How would the ground level, sand, and friction affect the situation? Although this is random, it is kind of relevent to me because I'm actually a student at NCSU considering changing from my current major to civil engineering. I can't help but to be curious as all the googling I have done has only resulted in dead ends! Your responses will be greatly appreciated!
Jacqueri is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 07-22-2009, 03:16 PM   #2
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Professional Painter!
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,303
Rewards Points: 926

Re: Enough Torque?


There is no way answer the question intelligently. It depends upon what "stuck" is.

I have removed plenty of "stuck" vehicles, be it dump truck, pick-up truck, loader, backhoe, skid steer loader, you name it under their own power. Simply by being a better driver/operator.

Many vehicles can appear stuck but be finessed out of their stuckness by someone who knows what they are doing/how to do it.

So I guess my answer would be yes, that dozer could remove a "stuck" loaded dump truck, depending on how stuck it is.

I just looked up the specs for the 550 J the current model and the max draw bar pull is about 28,000 lbs. so it should easily pull a loaded truck.

Advertisement

__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com

Last edited by tgeb; 07-22-2009 at 03:24 PM. Reason: 550j specs.
tgeb is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 03:46 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Jacqueri's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Enough Torque?


I guess by "stuck" I mean that the truck kind of sunk into some sand down into a 2-3 foot ditch.. If it is possible to tow the truck out with the bulldozer, how much do you think the sand would affect traction as opposed to mud or grass?

Thank you for your response!
Jacqueri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2009, 04:09 PM   #4
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Professional Painter!
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,303
Rewards Points: 926

Re: Enough Torque?


What is the truck loaded with?
__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com
tgeb is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 06:14 PM   #5
Professional Remodeler
 
firemike's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,289
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Enough Torque?


Way too many variables to give an answer. Are you using a 6 foot cable to pull with so the dozer is pulling in the same muck the truck is stuck in, or a 50 foot cable so the dozer can get better traction farthur away. Like tgeb said, "stuck" is too ambiguous a term. Use a snatch block and double your pulling power? Pull forward or backward? Maybe easier to pull it back out then try to go farthur ahead...
__________________
-Mike-
Falcon Contracting
Residential - Commercial
firemike is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 06:25 PM   #6
Vagitarian
 
rino1494's Avatar
 
Trade: site and utility contractor
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas, PA
Posts: 3,589
Rewards Points: 2,388

Re: Enough Torque?


I say no. I've had to yank out many trucks. A 550 size dozer won't do it, unless it is just mildly stuck, like it needs just a little nudge.
__________________
Life is hard. It is harder when you are stupid

Uncle Sam wants YOU....to speak ENGLISH
rino1494 is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 11:42 PM   #7
Pro
 
cexcavation's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation Contractor
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 399
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Enough Torque?


If it is simply a traction issue then no problem. If the truck is actually planted in the ground, then definately not. The drawbar pull rating would just spin the tracks. Hook a D7 on her and you either break something or the truck will move
cexcavation is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 10:42 AM   #8
Member
 
Trencher's Avatar
 
Trade: Trenching, Grading, Drainage, Fencing, and more!
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 79

Re: Enough Torque?


I was working with a crew pulling cable for an electric company and got one of the line trucks stuck. They had a Case 535 tractor trying to pull the truck out and almost buried the tractor. Now with the towing force of the tractor the line truck could not be moved, due to the suction it had created in the mud. After several shackles being stretched and snapped, they finally took the advice of us contractors (who in their eyes are beneath them) and used a track-hoe, lifted the back of the truck and swung as the Case pulled forward with ease.

As far as your question goes, I would need to know if the truck is high-centering on the axles or not. Pulling the weight of the truck might be a problem, but pulling it against what is holding it in (sand. mud, etc) you could double the amount of force needed. IMO
__________________
You don't know half, until you know all" - My quote

Fulcrum Services, LLC
www.fulcrumservicesllc.com
Trencher is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 07:25 PM   #9
Pro
 
jmacd's Avatar
 
Trade: excavating contractor
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: utica, ny
Posts: 530
Rewards Points: 386

Re: Enough Torque?


A job we did last year required us to pull the dump tucks in and out every load. The ground was wet but the trucks did not sink up to the axle, the dozer I have is 450h. You would be surprised what a dozer will pull. I used it to pull out mixers a few times also but the excavator has more than my dozer, a lot more. A dump fully loaded will go thru the mud much better than a empty one.

Advertisement

__________________
www.macdonoughexcavating.com

Last edited by jmacd; 08-02-2009 at 09:00 PM.
jmacd is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pocket screw torque sorethumbs Carpentry 19 05-05-2009 07:39 AM
Gas Mileage for 2006 Isuzu Cube Van oregonwater Vehicles 26 08-30-2008 10:25 PM
Impact Driver Nick H Tools & Equipment 24 02-21-2008 07:37 PM
xrp torque setting-in all speeds? AustinDB Tools & Equipment 5 11-26-2007 11:19 AM
Dewalt 36V Drill Too much torque? GregS Tools & Equipment 11 05-07-2007 02:47 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?