Demolition Specifications For Old Brick Building - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

Demolition Specifications For Old Brick Building

Old 01-12-2009, 12:00 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: sun rooms, screen rooms, pergolas, patio covers...
Rewards Points: 250

Demolition Specifications For Old Brick Building

Thanks in advance for any help. I'm a residential contractor dealing mostly in small room additions. For the last three years, I've been the volunteer building chairman for the construction of a new YMCA in our town. It is now complete and the results are spectacular.

Here's the next step. The old YMCA building was built in 1929. A marvel for its time, but the years were not kind so it must come down. It is located on a large lot in a downtown area, no other buildings on the same half of the block.

I'm preparing to write some general specifications for contractors to bid on the demolition, and wondered if anyone on CT could help shape the specifications.

We've had an asbestos assessment and will have the abatement done as a separate issue before turning it over for demo.

There is a basement. Does it make sense to remove everything 4' below grade, put some cracks in the basement floor for drainage, and fill it with sand up to grade?

Who usually handles the capping of sanitary sewer, water service, gas lines, etc?

This building has some relatively new gym floors, lots of copper, and other salvageable materials. How does that factor in for the demolition contractor? Would it be logical for them to salvage what they can sell as part of the contract, or should the YMCA sell those items before the building is turned over for demo?

I'm sure there are factors some of you have experienced that will be helpful. Any advice or recommendations are appreciated.

Thanks,
Bill