Can I Bury Concrete Demo - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

Can I Bury Concrete Demo

Old 05-04-2015, 07:45 AM   #1

Trade: residential remodeling
Rewards Points: 6

Can I Bury Concrete Demo

I am a carpenter, I don't know a lot about site work.
I am getting ready to start a new house, there is a swimming pool on the site with about 300 sq. ft. of concrete deck. the sidewalls are aluminum and I will pull them out, bottom is sand.
I was going to break the concrete, haul it to the recycle yard, buy crushed concrete from them to fill the driveway.
Why shouldn't I just break the concrete and move it for driveway fill? My gut says there is something wrong here- maybe fines will later settle through voids and cause the driveway to sink- but I need to ask a smarter crowd.
The driveway is about 50' long and needs to fill about 12-15" above existing grade at one end. I could break it down to 8" chunks with a skid loader and breaker, I need to break to move it regardless
Alternatively- can I lose this rubble in the garage fill? Just trying to avoid the disposal cost if its not a mistake
What would you do?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 05-04-2015, 08:43 AM   #2
House surgeon

Trade: building/remodeling
Rewards Points: 2,078

Re: Can I Bury Concrete Demo

No. Get rid of it. I had the same discussion with my concrete guy. Too unstable

Advertisement

Old 05-04-2015, 11:47 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: Railing
Rewards Points: 585