Bidding My First Bigger Job In Kansas City Missouri Area - Excavation & Site Work - Contractor Talk

Bidding My First Bigger Job In Kansas City Missouri Area

Old 06-25-2018, 03:22 PM   #1

Trade: excavation
Rewards Points: 8

Bidding My First Bigger Job In Kansas City Missouri Area

Hey fellas, I'm new to the site. Im a small excavating/ bobcat business. 2 guy operation. I've mainly been doing smaller jobs such as above ground pool site prep, yard grading, trench digging etc.... I got my first foundation we're working right now and just had a call for 1200 sq ft house demo and haul off. I'm just kind of curious, how would you guys bid something like that?

I understand there are factors to include such as fuel, disposal of the house etc.... Just kind of wondering is there maybe a industry standard sort of pricing on things like this? Sorry guys I hope I don't get flamed to hard, like I said I'm pretty new in this field as far as pricing goes but not new at operation of equipment lol

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 06-25-2018, 04:03 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: General contractor
Rewards Points: 1,623

Re: Bidding My First Bigger Job In Kansas City Missouri Area

Industry standard seems to be under bid all jobs, drive the price down and eventually go out of business. So I would stay away from that.
So sit down and figure out as close as you can what it will take, add your O&P and go for it. Hopefully you have enough $$$ in the bank to absorb any losses you might encounter.... other than that you canít grow if you donít step out of your comfort zone.

Good luck!!!

Advertisement