Troubleshooting A Goodman Furnace - HVAC - Contractor Talk

Troubleshooting A Goodman Furnace

Old 11-09-2010, 05:30 PM   #1

Trade: Refrigeration
Rewards Points: 10

Troubleshooting A Goodman Furnace

New guy around here, looking for a little help.

I'm a pro reefer tech/food equipment tech struggling to get my mother's furnace going. It's a fairly new Goodman GKS9090.

It locks out on a single flash error code, no ignition. The blower comes on, the igniter lights up but I get no ignition. I have verified that there is gas to the unit and I see 27v at the gas valve but no flame.

I don't know much about domestic HVAC so I'm wondering if the sequence is correct. the blower comes on for about 15~20 secs, then the igniter lights up but the the gas valve only gets juice about 5 seconds later, and only for about 2 or 3 secs, then it shuts down. I don't know if this is correct, it doesn't seem like that is long enough to fire up and prove a flame to the sensor. There is no port upstream of the valve to hook up my manometer so I'm not sure if the valve is actually opening for the breif time it gets juice.

Trying to figure out if I have a bad board, a bad GV, or something else. Would like to find a link to Goodman technical info.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 11-09-2010, 06:45 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: student again
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Troubleshooting A Goodman Furnace