Rheem - HVAC - Contractor Talk

Rheem

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2010, 12:00 PM   #1
Glazier
 
SuperGlazier's Avatar
 
Trade: Commercial & Residential Glazing
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Rheem


Ok mates... First, I hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving!

And now...

I have a Rheem Premium Classic 90 Plus furnace. Mod# RGRA-07EMAES. Manufactured 08/2005 installed roughly 10/2005. We moved in the home in 06/2006.

When the builders contractor installed it they didn't run the intake... I know they can run fine without it being double piped but as of last year the flames have been snuffing out. If I take the front top cover off they stay on... I'm assuming it is because the furnace can breath better... Voltages are normal, 27v and amp draw from inducer is good, .8 (motor lists .75ish).

Error is a steady flashing green pointing to the flames being out, go figure. I checked voltage everywhere last year and came out to same readings as above but didn't have anything to the gas valve... so I decided hell I'm still under warranty and I just replaced the board and I was good to go... Not realizing last year I didn't put the cover back on, the furnace ran great! "My better half," happened to see the cover off and brought it to my attention over the spring/summer and of course I put it back on and low and behold I have the same problem this year... Now we have finished the basement off and made different rooms... the furnace room is a larger room though with storage space. There isn't any insulation in the ceiling. I'm thinking that if I pipe the intake my problem will go away... I guess I am asking for some educated guessing here. Thanks in advance ladies and gentlemen.
SuperGlazier is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-27-2010, 02:23 PM   #2
Pro
 
MechAcc's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC Service Technician --RSES CM-- NATE Certifie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Rheem


If the burner flames snuff out immediately it is most likely not due to not having the combustion air pipe installed. Check the vent pipe for sagging and for wasp nests etc. inside. Other causes possible heat exchanger leak tripping the pressure switch.

Advertisement

MechAcc is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to MechAcc For This Useful Post:
SuperGlazier (11-27-2010)
Old 11-27-2010, 08:01 PM   #3
Glazier
 
SuperGlazier's Avatar
 
Trade: Commercial & Residential Glazing
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Rheem


Quote:
Originally Posted by MechAcc View Post
If the burner flames snuff out immediately it is most likely not due to not having the combustion air pipe installed. Check the vent pipe for sagging and for wasp nests etc. inside. Other causes possible heat exchanger leak tripping the pressure switch.

It's more like it runs for a bit 8-10 seconds then goes out. But only when the door is on. With it off it runs normal... wierd behavior.

Checked the Carbon Monoxide levels at the furnace and am not getting a reading. So that is a good sign.

Last edited by SuperGlazier; 11-27-2010 at 08:28 PM. Reason: Carbon Monoxide
SuperGlazier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2010, 10:55 PM   #4
Dr Heat
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mid West
Posts: 516
Rewards Points: 306

Re: Rheem


add an intake 3" minimum be sure the exhaust is also 3" (I don't care if the manual says 2" is good or that it has run fine for years) also the intake needs to be in the same barometric zone as the exhaust.
Dr Heat is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Dr Heat For This Useful Post:
SuperGlazier (12-07-2010)
Old 11-29-2010, 04:21 AM   #5
Pro
 
Electric_Light's Avatar
 
Trade: student again
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: helicopter
Posts: 853
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Rheem


BLINK CODES (GREEN LED)
1 Blink - Soft lockout
2 Blinks - pressure switch Circuit open
3 Blinks - Limit circuit open
4 Blinks - pressure switch Circuit closed
5 Blinks - Twin Fault (Optional)
Electric_Light is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Electric_Light For This Useful Post:
SuperGlazier (12-07-2010)
Old 11-30-2010, 09:29 PM   #6
Hvac Service tech
 
Harlemnt's Avatar
 
Trade: Hvac tech 12 years
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Rheem


Jump out the pressure switch right after the draft motor comes on. Make sure the door is on the burners. See after 8-10 seconds if the burners shut down. If they don't then observe what the flames look like. U may have some thing like a spider web in the draft port and or pressure switch or tubing. If the burners still shut down with the switch jumped then I doubt it's a blocked exhaust.
Harlemnt is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Harlemnt For This Useful Post:
SuperGlazier (12-07-2010)
Old 12-04-2010, 08:48 AM   #7
Pro
 
coolmen's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: north jersey
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 79

Re: Rheem


put the door on and when it fails what does the control bord lights code tell you.
take a photo of the unit so we can see install. sounds like pressure switch cutting out gas valve. what size of pipe how many feet of pipe, elbow, what combustion air used for furnace ?? is it in closet, basement, if closet do you have louvered door to feed furnace. I have installed many of these models
coolmen is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to coolmen For This Useful Post:
SuperGlazier (12-07-2010)
Old 12-07-2010, 10:29 PM   #8
Glazier
 
SuperGlazier's Avatar
 
Trade: Commercial & Residential Glazing
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Rheem


Thank you everyone for your replys, I would have posted earlier but I had to travel to Grand Rapids, MI for work. I will systematically do each and post a reply to each and hopefully one of them will work. Someone decided to borrow my mag light and not return it so I had to go and buy another one today after finally giving up with the principle of finding who took it, lol. I will check the exhaust for blockage first thing tomorrow and then work down the line of suggestions. Thanks everyone.
SuperGlazier is offline  
Old 12-07-2010, 11:18 PM   #9
Pro
 
RadRemod's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Rheem


I have the same system and had a similur problem every year for the first 3 years. The company that installed it would come out and replace the pressure switch on it. After 2 they come out and up sized the pipe and moved the intake air from the garage to my attic. Since then no problem. Now I know if it were piped outside it might be better but I do have good ventilation in my attic with the gable vents so it seems to be working. I think this is good advice:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Heat View Post
add an intake 3" minimum be sure the exhaust is also 3" (I don't care if the manual says 2" is good or that it has run fine for years) also the intake needs to be in the same barometric zone as the exhaust.

Also what are the lights blinking? I have a manual for mine that tells you what the sequence light blinks mean. This should help narrow the problem.

Good luck!
RadRemod is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 07:22 PM   #10
West Coast HVAC
 
Heritage Mt's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Port Moody
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Rheem


Check the flame sensor. It may need a cleaning with some steel wool. Also is your furnace is close the laundry room and you use fabric softener etc it can deteriorate your connections. I would recommend pulling off all your female connections and making sure there is a good contact. With flame rectification, it relies on dc voltage so has to be clean.
Heritage Mt is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 08:32 PM   #11
Pro
 
Electric_Light's Avatar
 
Trade: student again
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: helicopter
Posts: 853
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Rheem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Heritage Mt View Post
Check the flame sensor. It may need a cleaning with some steel wool. Also is your furnace is close the laundry room and you use fabric softener etc it can deteriorate your connections. I would recommend pulling off all your female connections and making sure there is a good contact. With flame rectification, it relies on dc voltage so has to be clean.
The amber LED will tell you if the flame rectification current is good, marginal or bad.
Electric_Light is offline  
Old 12-09-2010, 09:21 AM   #12
Pro
 
MechAcc's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC Service Technician --RSES CM-- NATE Certifie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Rheem


Quote:
Originally Posted by RadRemod View Post
I have the same system and had a similur problem every year for the first 3 years. The company that installed it would come out and replace the pressure switch on it. After 2 they come out and up sized the pipe and moved the intake air from the garage to my attic. Since then no problem. Now I know if it were piped outside it might be better but I do have good ventilation in my attic with the gable vents so it seems to be working. I think this is good advice:




Also what are the lights blinking? I have a manual for mine that tells you what the sequence light blinks mean. This should help narrow the problem.

Good luck!
Check the installation instructions. The air intake needs to be in the same zone as the vent. The instructions are very specific.
MechAcc is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 05:14 PM   #13
Glazier
 
SuperGlazier's Avatar
 
Trade: Commercial & Residential Glazing
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Rheem


Ok mates, sorry it took me so long to get back to everyone. Here goes:

1.) Furnace is already piped 3" for exhaust
2.) Didn't see anything in exhaust to confirm blockage but I'm not ruling it out yet
3.) Laundry room is on first floor so I can eliminate that theory but will check the flame sensor


Will update everyone as to what I find as this is really frigin' wierd and now it is becoming a matter of principle to figure it out, lol.
__________________
______________________
www.proglassservices.com
SuperGlazier is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 11:18 PM   #14
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,920
Rewards Points: 3,532

Re: Rheem


Wouldn't be suprised if it's simply a matter of taking off the four screws that fasten the burner maniflold to the furnace, removing and cleaning the burners. It possible that there is a buildup of dust on the ___ channel.

Advertisement

flashheatingand is offline  



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rheem tankless water heaters plummen Plumbing 5 05-31-2010 10:22 AM
Rheem dehumidification rayh78 HVAC 2 05-03-2010 03:08 PM
Rheem RTG-53PVN Celtic Plumbing 4 02-07-2009 04:18 PM
Rheem Recalls to Repair Oil-Fired Furnaces Due to Fire Hazard MechAcc HVAC 0 01-22-2009 06:10 PM
Industrial Chiller Plant operator Stummped by Rheem zoli HVAC 5 01-16-2009 12:34 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?