Presure Switch - HVAC - Contractor Talk

Presure Switch

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 10:07 PM   #1
Registered User
 
C comfort's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10

Presure Switch


I am working on a Ducane Gas pack, and the pressure switch is not working. Replaced switch, unhooked the 2 wires and checked the switch while the ibm was running. The switch did not close for ignition. Cleaned the port at ibm and checked line for blockage. All checks out but the unit will not run unless the switch is jumped out. Could I have a bad exchanger that is causing a zero pressure difference.
C comfort is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-13-2010, 12:31 AM   #2
Registered User
 
cereal killer's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Presure Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by C comfort View Post
I am working on a Ducane Gas pack, and the pressure switch is not working. Replaced switch, unhooked the 2 wires and checked the switch while the ibm was running. The switch did not close for ignition. Cleaned the port at ibm and checked line for blockage. All checks out but the unit will not run unless the switch is jumped out. Could I have a bad exchanger that is causing a zero pressure difference.
Hey there C comfort. So you did your troubleshooting and came to the conclusion that the pressure switch was bad. How did you know it was bad?
You replaced the switch and it still doing the same thing. Did you check the flue? Have you looked at the hx? There is a possibility that it could be cracked.

Advertisement

cereal killer is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to cereal killer For This Useful Post:
C comfort (11-13-2010)
Old 11-13-2010, 05:22 AM   #3
Pro
 
beenthere's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,437
Rewards Points: 1,180

Re: Presure Switch


Could be bad heat exchanger.

Could be bad inducer, did you measure how much pressure the switch was sensing(a manometer helps for this)?
beenthere is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
C comfort (11-13-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2010, 07:17 AM   #4
Registered User
 
C comfort's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Presure Switch


The burners would light and go off within 10 seconds, so I replaced the flame sensor first but no luck. I could see the plunger on the switch move off the limit switch, but when it shut down the led light was flashing 3 times indicating a pressure swicth problem. Changed switch, checked hose, port, and still kicking out. No blockages were found, but I am going to check the hx today.
C comfort is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 07:28 PM   #5
Registered User
 
davidtrotsky's Avatar
 
Trade: HVAC
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Presure Switch


You need to look at the squirrel cage of the inducer motor. If it is rusted out or dirty it may not be moving the right amount of air to make the pressure switch.
davidtrotsky is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a warp switch flashheatingand HVAC 0 10-24-2009 09:34 AM
Multiple fixtures on switch loop KenHaynes Electrical 2 12-05-2007 03:15 PM
Dimmer switch blowing out glock40 Electrical 4 03-13-2006 07:54 PM
smart light switch circuit toastermaker Electrical 7 12-07-2005 11:45 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?