Honeywell Wireless Thermostat Issue - HVAC - Contractor Talk

Honeywell Wireless Thermostat Issue

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2018, 03:00 AM   #1
Pro
 
VinylHanger's Avatar
 
Trade: I'll do that for 500 bucks.
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,378
Rewards Points: 9,646

Honeywell Wireless Thermostat Issue


I'm on a remodel that has a Honeywell TH6320R thermostat that wirelessly hooks to a Honeywell THM5320R controller. It has always been a bit temperamental, but I could get it to connect and get the the or A/C going.

Today I ran by there to make sure the heat was doing it's thing so we can get in and paint and lay flooring. The heat had been off all weekend and it was showing a no signal error. I put another set of new batteries in and tried everything I could think of to get it to connect. It usually does it automatically, but I even trid manually hitting the connect button and connecting it. No go.

I hit the breaker and waited for it to reset and it only would flash red like it was trying to connect. It did try to run a few times, but then as soon as it would kick on, it would shut down and get a no signal error.

Anyone use one of these? Any ideas? It is really messing up my schedule on a couple jobs now.

If it was a standard wired thermostat, I'd just hook up a cheap one and see if that is the problem. However, it is 150 bucks for one, and that is a bit much to just buy and try.

I'd like to see if I can fix it before we call in the heat guys.
__________________
Your emergency does not constitute a problem with my Constitution.
VinylHanger is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-17-2018, 03:46 PM   #2
Pro
 
madmax718's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,775
Rewards Points: 3,272

Re: Honeywell Wireless Thermostat Issue


You could just jump the wire.

Advertisement

madmax718 is offline  
Old 12-17-2018, 03:47 PM   #3
Pro
 
madmax718's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,775
Rewards Points: 3,272

Re: Honeywell Wireless Thermostat Issue


sorry, I should clarify. not familiar with this unit, but heating systems havent changed that much. THere will still be the control wires on the controller. You can jump those. If the heating starts up, its obviously a problem with the thermosat/thermostat controller.
madmax718 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2018, 08:57 PM   #4
Pro
 
flashheatingand's Avatar
 
Trade: H.v.a.c.
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boise, Id
Posts: 3,910
Rewards Points: 3,512

Re: Honeywell Wireless Thermostat Issue


Long term, run some wire to from A to B, not that I am there, but more times than not, there is a way to make it happen in a manner that is acceptable to the home-owner. Short term, install a regular thermostat by the heater, and one can find a set point that will work.


I am not a fan of those wireless setups. I had a weekend call with a malfunctioning transmitter. There was a way to run the low voltage wire, but the contractor took the easy way.
__________________
http://www.37flash.com/
flashheatingand is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any feedback on this Roof issue ??! power Roofing 9 08-23-2013 09:38 PM
Quick ? re- thermostat wiring tgeb HVAC 35 11-25-2010 10:45 AM
Thermostat Recall Shock Hazard MechAcc HVAC 1 07-27-2009 01:58 AM
Thermostat question kbsparky HVAC 7 03-08-2009 11:31 AM
Can I split thermostat wire??? Jambruins HVAC 5 01-13-2009 06:29 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?