Direct Vent Furnace Draft Inducer - HVAC - Contractor Talk

Direct Vent Furnace Draft Inducer

Old 07-20-2009, 08:12 PM   #1
Armstrong Carpentry

Trade: Carpenter / Cabinet Maker
Rewards Points: 25

Direct Vent Furnace Draft Inducer

Hi

Im a carpenter so im a little out of my league with this stuff.

I had a service tech come out to make a repair attempt but after repair did not work and the guy would not return my calls. I started looking at it myself.

I have a Cozy HEDV404 http://www.cozyheaters.com/pdfs/prod..._vent_wall.pdf

The problem was the pressure switch would not close (3 blink), so the tech replaced the switch (with a totally different looking switch although it was still 2 hose, 2 wire it was about 1/2 the size) - anyway it didnt work.

I started looking at it myself - if I plugged the hose on the burner side the furnace fired up, If I sucked slightly on the blower side I could get the furnace to fire up, it would also fire up with the switch jumped. So I think I eliminated the switch...

Took all the vents appart and checked for obstructions and then I started looking around the inducer for air leaks, there was some rust on the base of the furnace under the inducer blower (thinking condensation). I pulled the assembly out, the gasket was toast and fell apart. I cleaned it all up and used a high temp silicone to re-asemble. Let set up overnight... Suction was much louder on the inducer side (rubber tube) but the furnace would still not fire.

Next I noticed a screw on the pressure switch (allen screw) - turned it about 1/4 to 1/2 turn counterclockwise and the furnace fired up, tested it a few times since and it seems to fire up normally - I will block the vent next time I run it to verify it shuts down with the pressure switch.

My questions:

Could the leaking gasket have caused the pressure switch failure?

Has anyone used "red" high temp silicone to replace a gasket on one of these blowers? Will it hold up?

Has anyone adjusted a pressure switch?