Contractor LQQking For HVAC Input! Thank You! - HVAC - Contractor Talk

Contractor LQQking For HVAC Input! Thank You!

Old 07-19-2017, 08:15 PM   #1

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 8

Contractor LQQking For HVAC Input! Thank You!

Hello - I'm a Contractor and new to this forum - I'm getting two separate quotes for replacing 2 of my customers HVAC systems. Quick info. house is 50+yrs. old, 1st floor is 2,750sf open area, 2nd floor is 1,000sf 2-bed/1-bath. Looking to replace w/new high efficiencies.

The job consists of removing old units, tying into existing duct and in one case, re-routing some duct. Plan calls for venting through a crawl space via PVC abandoning existing chimney's.

Any advice of what (or not) to consider when reviewing these proposals is welcomed. I won't dare ask about pricing b/c I don't want to tick-off the posting police. I'm just trying to get a basis of what to expect.

One company suggested using American Standard single-stage 16-seer HE A/C's w/96% Eff. 2-Stage gas furnaces for both applications.

Thank you kindly to those that have responded to my previous post today and I thank all in-advance to all for your input and advice to follow.

Regards, John

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-19-2017, 08:50 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 2,982

Re: Contractor LQQking For HVAC Input! Thank You!

You should provide a detailed SOW including install expectations and efficiency requirements.

What will YOU be responsible for?

SEER ratings will have a large impact on price as well as amount of work hvac sub expected to do.

Advertisement