Big Question Related to HVAC Trade - License

3K views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  flashheatingand 
#1 ·
Dear,

I graduated from a trade school with the trade called
Building Maintenace.

This course included:
Carpentry, Plumbing, Electrical, HVAC

But, HVAC phrase only cover basic technical training and the test for EPA-Approved Section 608 certification.

I took it and already passed the test with Universal Type.

However, things seem like more interest to me.

I want to focus only on HVAC and I would like to ask a few more question?

1) How many license that HVAC technician should have?
2) I heard about state-board exam? But what really it is?
3) If I want to be a contractor that can qualify to install the HVAC system for the restaurant? Then, where should to go to study or what license I should take to pass in order to qualify?
4) Can license transfer between state-to-state

I would like an experiences person to talk about it and tell me more about what license you already took and is that enough for you to work on HVAC?

Thank you

See less See more
#2 ·
Dear,

I graduated from a trade school with the trade called
Building Maintenace.

This course included:
Carpentry, Plumbing, Electrical, HVAC

But, HVAC phrase only cover basic technical training and the test for EPA-Approved Section 608 certification.

I took it and already passed the test with Universal Type.

However, things seem like more interest to me.

I want to focus only on HVAC and I would like to ask a few more question?

1) How many license that HVAC technician should have?

Only 1 in PA.

2) I heard about state-board exam? But what really it is?

Non in PA.

3) If I want to be a contractor that can qualify to install the HVAC system for the restaurant? Then, where should to go to study or what license I should take to pass in order to qualify?

Handyman registration in PA.

4) Can license transfer between state-to-state

No state currently has a reciprocation with PA.