Where To Place The Cable Box? - Low Voltage - Contractor Talk

Where To Place The Cable Box?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 06:03 PM   #1
Youngster
 
Cache's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder / Consultant / Designer
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 493
Rewards Points: 344

Where To Place The Cable Box?


First off, my skills are in carpentry. I'm an idiot when it comes to electrical.

It is my understanding that a cable box works by line of sight. In my own home we have installed a direct vent fireplace with a recess in tha wall above for a flat panel TV. This is great for cleaning up the area and eliminating the need for an entertainment center, but I still have to have the box somewhere for DVR, channel guides, etc. Any ideas on where to locate the box?
Cache is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-01-2008, 06:07 PM   #2
Professional Instigator
 
rbsremodeling's Avatar
 
Trade: Design Build Remodeling Contractor DC MD
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Washington, DC/ Maryland
Posts: 6,872
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Where To Place The Cable Box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cache View Post
First off, my skills are in carpentry. I'm an idiot when it comes to electrical.

It is my understanding that a cable box works by line of sight. In my own home we have installed a direct vent fireplace with a recess in tha wall above for a flat panel TV. This is great for cleaning up the area and eliminating the need for an entertainment center, but I still have to have the box somewhere for DVR, channel guides, etc. Any ideas on where to locate the box?

Build a shelf, slab or granite under the tv and put the Cable box on it. Or on the side of the tv built some nice shelves and but the box on that.

the cable box does not have to be by the tv it can be positioned somewhere else as long as the remote can hit it. I have put them up to 20' away from the tv in some unique instances, think a bit and be creative

Advertisement

__________________

rbsremodeling is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 08:22 PM   #3
Pro
 
Kgmz's Avatar
 
Trade: General, Electrical, and Plumbing Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portland, OR & Eatonville, WA
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Where To Place The Cable Box?


I am assuming that this is a direct vent gas fireplace that vents straight out the back.

In some of the homes we have built, we have done something similar. The hole for the TV is full depth or same depth as the fireplace framing. We usually put in a 40" LCD on a custom mount that allows the TV to swing out and tilt in either direction and allows access to the components behind it. The mantel goes all the way to the ceiling and boxes the fireplace and the TV, The center, left, and right front speakers are built into this surround. And then there are doors with flipper door slides so that the doors disappear, or cover the TV when you don't want to see it.

Now to control all the components behind the TV we use a Infrared repeater. I usually put the infrared sensor for the repeater behind the speaker grill on the center speaker, or sometimes we just mount it in the gap around the TV.
Kgmz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2008, 02:36 AM   #4
Youngster
 
Cache's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder / Consultant / Designer
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 493
Rewards Points: 344

Re: Where To Place The Cable Box?


Ah, an infrared repeater. Great idea! That's perfect. Thanks
Cache is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 01:24 PM   #5
Member
 
ICC Marco's Avatar
 
Trade: Structured Cabling
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Where To Place The Cable Box?


You can use this IR keystone to plug in your ir receiver and go CAT 5 (3 wires only) to the location where the box is.MODULE, STEREO AUDIO, 3.5 MM (doubles as audio headset connection or IR jack)Check this out at www ICC .comPart Number: IC107SAPDescription: MODULE, STEREO AUDIO, 3.5 MM
ICC Marco is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 02:18 PM   #6
Pro
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Trade: Building and Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CONNECTICUT
Posts: 1,843
Rewards Points: 1,232

Re: Where To Place The Cable Box?


I have ATT Uverse...with them you don't need a line of site remote...you may want to ask your cable company if they also have one...

http://www.att.com/equipment/accesso...urer=&q_model=

If you need a mounting plate or cables....www.monoprice.com


Advertisement

JonM is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Speed Cable & P.O.T. Separation? redzthredz Low Voltage 11 12-01-2009 05:09 PM
Satellite / Cable-TV exterior cable routing bob_cntrctr General Discussion 10 11-25-2008 02:31 PM
Com Cast tv cable in wood gutter Driftwood Carpentry 6 10-04-2008 08:40 AM
framing fire place opening Marcus1 Framing 2 09-16-2008 08:28 PM
Cable Calc. sparkengineer21 Electrical 2 02-06-2007 07:01 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?