Securitron BPS 24-1 Over Voltage - Low Voltage - Contractor Talk

Securitron BPS 24-1 Over Voltage

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2019, 11:41 AM   #1
Registered User
 
Thatgy's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Security
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 8

Securitron BPS 24-1 Over Voltage


Need some help please. I have two BPS 24-1's (24vdc) that have failed to 40vdc. This is the second replacement (same problem). The only thing they have in common is main voltage, which runs through a surge suppression outlet, and also a surge suppressor outlet strip. There also is a generator that is tested monthly. Voltage right at 120vac. Any thoughts as to what may be failing on the board for them to fail at 40V?
Thatgy is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-28-2019, 07:32 PM   #2
Pro
 
ABLE1's Avatar
 
Trade: Security Alarm Installer (Low Voltage)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,020
Rewards Points: 1,296

Re: Securitron BPS 24-1 Over Voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thatgy View Post
Need some help please. I have two BPS 24-1's (24vdc) that have failed to 40vdc. This is the second replacement (same problem). The only thing they have in common is main voltage, which runs through a surge suppression outlet, and also a surge suppressor outlet strip. There also is a generator that is tested monthly. Voltage right at 120vac. Any thoughts as to what may be failing on the board for them to fail at 40V?

Hello,

I am just a bit confused. Is the 40vdc a typo or are you somehow getting this 24vdc power supply pumped up to 40 Volts DC??

The units output is 24vdc. If you wanted 40vdc maybe you should
use a different unit.

Or am I missing something??

Thanks for posting here 1st. Please respond with some extra details such as what kind of business are you in and where are you located.

Les

Advertisement

__________________
ABLE1

Last edited by ABLE1; 05-28-2019 at 07:35 PM.
ABLE1 is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 09:04 PM   #3
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 26,075
Rewards Points: 5,076

Re: Securitron BPS 24-1 Over Voltage


Did it over charge the crap out of the battery? I've had power supplies output weird voltage but rarely with any significant current, just enough to show higher voltage on your meter.

They have a regulation circuit with an adjustable pot, so if that fails it could cause an over voltage. Put your meter on the battery leads and check the voltage, then adjust the pot up/down and see if the voltage changes.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2019, 02:58 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Thatgy's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Security
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 8

Re: Securitron BPS 24-1 Over Voltage


The power supply is "failing" the output is supposed to be 24vdc but the output is usually up around 38-40vdc.

They are power supplies used for card access door equipment.

Pot only varies voltage by a few tenths of a volt.

Fortunately they have a lifetime warranty but I don't really want to change them often, I will test after next generator test in a few weeks also.

Thanks

Last edited by Thatgy; 05-29-2019 at 02:59 PM. Reason: To say Thanks
Thatgy is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 04:09 PM   #5
Pro
 
ABLE1's Avatar
 
Trade: Security Alarm Installer (Low Voltage)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,020
Rewards Points: 1,296

Re: Securitron BPS 24-1 Over Voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thatgy View Post
The power supply is "failing" the output is supposed to be 24vdc but the output is usually up around 38-40vdc.

They are power supplies used for card access door equipment.

Pot only varies voltage by a few tenths of a volt.

Fortunately they have a lifetime warranty but I don't really want to change them often, I will test after next generator test in a few weeks also.

Thanks

Ok, not a typo.


Is this voltage with no load?? This could be normally high without a load.

Then, if there is a load does it drop to 24vdc??

Also you do have two(2) ea. 12 volt Batteries in series = 24vdc??
What is the charging voltage?? Should be about 27vdc.

You say that there some surge protection on the 120vac source, is it properly grounded??

When you say it is failing. Do you know what has happened around
the time of the failure. Besides the generator test, can you monitor
the voltage during the switch over??

Last question, have you contacted Securitron to get their input??

BTW I have had very embarrassing moment when my
Fluke VOM had low battery and was reporting some really
weird readings.
Fresh batteries in the meter can make a difference.

Les
__________________
ABLE1

Last edited by ABLE1; 05-29-2019 at 04:15 PM.
ABLE1 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?