Hotspot Security Camera - Low Voltage - Contractor Talk

Hotspot Security Camera

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2020, 06:43 PM   #1
Pro
 
KennMacMoragh's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair/Remodel
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,939
Rewards Points: 3,392

Hotspot Security Camera


Does anyone know if these exist? I've been doing some searching but without much luck. I've called both Ring and ADT and they each said their cameras require Wifi, Hotspot will not work.
KennMacMoragh is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-16-2020, 07:41 PM   #2
Pro
 
Stunt Carpenter's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 2,063
Rewards Points: 3,022

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


I would really like something like this. It would be really nice to put up on jobs. Nice way to keep track of subs coming and going also.

Advertisement

__________________
https://builddaley.com/
Stunt Carpenter is offline  
Old 06-16-2020, 07:46 PM   #3
Pro
 
MarkJames's Avatar
 
Trade: Essential Handyman Services
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,541
Rewards Points: 19,671

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


some random stuff:

https://reolink.com/solutions-for-wi...ternet-access/
MarkJames is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2020, 07:31 PM   #4
Pro
 
KennMacMoragh's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair/Remodel
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,939
Rewards Points: 3,392

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkJames View Post
Reolink uses a SIM card so it's like paying for another cell phone.

Oh well I tried, must be a reason hotspot won't work on cameras.
KennMacMoragh is offline  
Old 06-19-2020, 08:08 PM   #5
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,825
Rewards Points: 1,170

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


I have a couple of cameras that work with Sprint's hotspot that I also have.

I can set up the camera and hotspot at a remote location and as long as the hotspot is within the service area and gets good signal, it works quite well.

I have amcrest wi-fi cameras.
__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com
tgeb is online now  
Old 06-19-2020, 08:43 PM   #6
Pro
 
KennMacMoragh's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair/Remodel
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,939
Rewards Points: 3,392

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by tgeb View Post
I have a couple of cameras that work with Sprint's hotspot that I also have.

I can set up the camera and hotspot at a remote location and as long as the hotspot is within the service area and gets good signal, it works quite well.

I have amcrest wi-fi cameras.
Which camera are you talking about? I'm talking no Wi-Fi, no SIM card required, just hotspot.
KennMacMoragh is offline  
Old 06-20-2020, 07:23 AM   #7
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,825
Rewards Points: 1,170

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


https://amcrest.com/amcrest-ultrahd-...-pt-black.html


It's a wi-fi camera and my hotspot is the wi-fi that it connects to. The sprint hotspot connects to the data of the phone network and broadcasts a wi-fi signal that connects the camera.

Maybe we have differing thoughts on what a hotspot is.
__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com
tgeb is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to tgeb For This Useful Post:
hdavis (06-20-2020)
Old 06-20-2020, 08:09 AM   #8
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 25,736
Rewards Points: 3,080

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Hotspot

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotspot_(Wi-Fi)
hdavis is online now  
Old 06-20-2020, 08:31 AM   #9
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 25,736
Rewards Points: 3,080

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


I put together a really cheap system just to see how I would use one, what it's features and limitations were, etc.

Yi Home cameras
Some mobile hotspot from Wal-Mart
Dedicated Straight Talk cell phone.(I don't put apps on my main cell phone until I've checked them out)

The supplied app only sends alerts through Yi's server in China. That seems to be the usual case. At some point I'll check to see if there is an alternate generic app that avoids routing over the internet.
hdavis is online now  
Old 06-21-2020, 01:48 PM   #10
Pro
 
KennMacMoragh's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair/Remodel
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,939
Rewards Points: 3,392

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by tgeb View Post
https://amcrest.com/amcrest-ultrahd-...-pt-black.html


It's a wi-fi camera and my hotspot is the wi-fi that it connects to. The sprint hotspot connects to the data of the phone network and broadcasts a wi-fi signal that connects the camera.

Maybe we have differing thoughts on what a hotspot is.
Iím not sure how you have your devices set up but I called that company they said it wonít work through a hotspot. Your camera must still be getting a Wi-Fi it hooks up to.

But the difference is hotspot uses a different frequency than Wi-Fi. You can tell which one youíre getting if you connect your cell phone to it. If itís hotspot youíll see two overlapped rings, Wi-Fi and youíll see the three waves.
KennMacMoragh is offline  
Old 06-21-2020, 05:48 PM   #11
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,825
Rewards Points: 1,170

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


I don't know Kenn, mine is a wifi Hotspot.

I set it up with a unique name and password, then made it hidden so others would not know there is a wifi access point.

I'm not generally tech savvy, but I do know the camera can do 2.4 and 5ghz not sure about the Hotspot but it works well as long as there is good coverage from Sprint.

I do pay a fee for the Hotspot service. If that's what you are trying to avoid... not sure I know a solution.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com
tgeb is online now  
Old 06-21-2020, 09:05 PM   #12
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 25,736
Rewards Points: 3,080

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by KennMacMoragh View Post
I've called both Ring and ADT and they each said their cameras require Wifi, Hotspot will not work.
Every single Wi-Fi enabled camera I've seen works with a hit spot. You may have lower data rates depending on where it is, so the live video feed may go in and out. It all depends on the cell service the hit spot is using.
hdavis is online now  
Old 07-01-2020, 01:04 PM   #13
Pro
 
KennMacMoragh's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair/Remodel
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,939
Rewards Points: 3,392

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by hdavis View Post
Every single Wi-Fi enabled camera I've seen works with a hit spot. You may have lower data rates depending on where it is, so the live video feed may go in and out. It all depends on the cell service the hit spot is using.
Which one specifically? I tried it with a Ring camera and it simply won't connect to the network via hotspot. Their tech support verified this over the phone as well, it needs a Wi-Fi signal not a hotspot.
KennMacMoragh is offline  
Old 07-01-2020, 02:07 PM   #14
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 25,736
Rewards Points: 3,080

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by KennMacMoragh View Post
Which one specifically? I tried it with a Ring camera and it simply won't connect to the network via hotspot. Their tech support verified this over the phone as well, it needs a Wi-Fi signal not a hotspot.
Look at my earlier post.

Go buy a mobile Wi-Fi hotspot if you want to move your system to different locations.

You can have data rate and latency issues using a cell based Wi-Fi hotspot. Depends on how far from a tower and what the signal strength is.
hdavis is online now  
Old 07-01-2020, 03:41 PM   #15
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 25,736
Rewards Points: 3,080

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Ken, exactly what hardware were you using for your hotspot?
hdavis is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
tgeb (07-01-2020)
Old 07-03-2020, 06:16 PM   #16
Pro
 
KennMacMoragh's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair/Remodel
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,939
Rewards Points: 3,392

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by hdavis View Post
Ken, exactly what hardware were you using for your hotspot?
The hotspot comes from an iPhone.

I've used the Wi-Fi hotspots before but that requires a SIM card. Plus the Wi-Fi hotspots offered by At&t are very limited, they only work with the broken down low speed calling plan. Better off to use a camera with a SIM card in it, but that's what I'm trying to avoid because it's like paying for another phone.
KennMacMoragh is offline  
Old 07-04-2020, 12:05 AM   #17
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 25,736
Rewards Points: 3,080

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by KennMacMoragh View Post
The hotspot comes from an iPhone.

I've used the Wi-Fi hotspots before but that requires a SIM card. Plus the Wi-Fi hotspots offered by At&t are very limited, they only work with the broken down low speed calling plan. Better off to use a camera with a SIM card in it, but that's what I'm trying to avoid because it's like paying for another phone.
If you have a WIFI router that covers 802.11 g, n, ac you MAY be able to teather your cell phone to it and connect the ring devices through the Wi-Fi router to the internet through your cell phone. Don't know, haven't tried it.


No, an iPhone isn't going to work for these. Ring uses 2.4 GHz for WIFI and cell phones use 5 GHz.
hdavis is online now  
Old 07-04-2020, 07:14 AM   #18
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,825
Rewards Points: 1,170

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by hdavis View Post

No, an iPhone isn't going to work for these. Ring uses 2.4 GHz for WIFI and cell phones use 5 GHz.
The camera I referenced earlier is dual band.

https://amcrest.com/amcrest-ultrahd-...-pt-black.html

Currently only 65 bucks.
__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com
tgeb is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to tgeb For This Useful Post:
hdavis (07-04-2020)
Old 07-04-2020, 03:04 PM   #19
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 25,736
Rewards Points: 3,080

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


Quote:
Originally Posted by tgeb View Post
The camera I referenced earlier is dual band.

https://amcrest.com/amcrest-ultrahd-...-pt-black.html

Currently only 65 bucks.
The hitch I've seen on the Yi, and it looks the same on yours, is all the notifications, stills, and clips go though their server, so you have to have internet for those features.

I've poked around a little looking for a generic piece of software to get around it, but nothing yet.
hdavis is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
tgeb (07-04-2020)
Old 07-04-2020, 08:23 PM   #20
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,825
Rewards Points: 1,170

Re: Hotspot Security Camera


I don't know anything about the yi camera.

I have the option to have storage through amcrest, but do not.

As far as I am aware the feed from my cam does not go through any servers other than what is needed to get to me, and is secure via password.

Not that I could not be mistaken, just my current understanding.

In fact, I can disable the wifi altogether and record to a micro SD card.


Sent from my back porch.... dang it's hot out.

Advertisement

__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com

Last edited by tgeb; 07-04-2020 at 08:26 PM.
tgeb is online now  



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?