Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems... - Decks & Fencing - Contractor Talk

Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2015, 11:15 PM   #1
Business Owner
 
JD@SBS's Avatar
 
Trade: Schluter Systems ASD, General Bathroom Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: North Texas
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 330

Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


So I'm getting around to building a deck for myself and am looking into what I'm going to top it all off with, the other day I looked at Trex and though the product looks great, at 2.80$ a LF I cannot justify it.

What are your opinions on Decking materials as far as offering the best balance of low maintenance and price for a 500 SqFt Deck.

Aslo your opinions on a fastening system would be Nice?

Thanks in advance guys!
__________________
JD
JD@SBS is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 03-04-2015, 11:20 PM   #2
John Hyatt
 
John Hyatt's Avatar
 
Trade: out door areas, decks,spa room additions,fire pits
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 3,658
Rewards Points: 3,910

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


If you can't go $ 2.80 a running ft.

There is no need to go looking at upgrade decking product.

J.

Advertisement

John Hyatt is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to John Hyatt For This Useful Post:
Deckhead (03-04-2015)
Old 03-04-2015, 11:21 PM   #3
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 39,849
Rewards Points: 9,062

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
So I'm getting around to building a deck for myself and am looking into what I'm going to top it all off with, the other day I looked at Trex and though the product looks great, at 2.80$ a LF I cannot justify it.

What are your opinions on Decking materials as far as offering the best balance of low maintenance and price for a 500 SqFt Deck.

Aslo your opinions on a fastening system would be Nice?

Thanks in advance guys!
What kind of money per lineal foot do you think is justifiable?
Calidecks is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2015, 11:24 PM   #4
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 39,849
Rewards Points: 9,062

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


The cheapest composite out there is probably Evergrain. I don't think it's much less then 2.80 a lineal though. I assume the trex you priced was select? At least it's capped.
Calidecks is online now  
Old 03-04-2015, 11:38 PM   #5
Artist and not a curator
 
Deckhead's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry,
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 9,539
Rewards Points: 6,886

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
The cheapest composite out there is probably Evergrain. I don't think it's much less then 2.80 a lineal though. I assume the trex you priced was select? At least it's capped.
I just did some Evergrain and it was around 2.65, and looked like crap, even in my subjective view of composites, it wasn't even close to the other plastics in looks.

You can get Garapa for around $3, if you know someone, it gets less expensive. $2.80 aint much. Good decking is up around 4 a lineal (Except Garapa)
__________________
And then I said, supposing you brought the light inside of the body, which you can do either through the skin or in some other way.
Deckhead is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Deckhead For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (03-04-2015)
Old 03-04-2015, 11:43 PM   #6
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 39,849
Rewards Points: 9,062

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckhead View Post
I just did some Evergrain and it was around 2.65, and looked like crap, even in my subjective view of composites, it wasn't even close to the other plastics in looks.

You can get Garapa for around $3, if you know someone, it gets less expensive. $2.80 aint much. Good decking is up around 4 a lineal (Except Garapa)
I put Evergrain on mobile homes, not because I want to either. The stuff is older generation and just sucks. But what do you expect for that price?
Calidecks is online now  
Old 03-05-2015, 01:49 AM   #7
Pro
 
CarpenterSFO's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 7,076
Rewards Points: 2,044

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


For that sort of budget, around here, I'd say painted con heart redwood, face nailed.
__________________
- Bob
CarpenterSFO is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 03:10 AM   #8
Business Owner
 
JD@SBS's Avatar
 
Trade: Schluter Systems ASD, General Bathroom Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: North Texas
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 330

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


Sounds like I'm ahead of myself on this one, which is exactly why you don't see deck construction in trade description.

I was hoping someone would bring up a magical product that ran pennies per foot but it looks like I'm going to just have to suck it up and be happy with 2.80$.

No one answered my question about fastening systems though what are your opinions?
__________________
JD
JD@SBS is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 05:46 AM   #9
Deck Parts Retailer
 
killerdecks's Avatar
 
Trade: deck builder
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wayne Mi
Posts: 3,108
Rewards Points: 888

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


https://www.contractortalk.com/f50/wh...system-158538/
killerdecks is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 06:36 AM   #10
John Hyatt
 
John Hyatt's Avatar
 
Trade: out door areas, decks,spa room additions,fire pits
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 3,658
Rewards Points: 3,910

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


A person can face fasten composite with color coded screws.

It's fast and cheep to do. Not bad looking really.

JonMon www.deckmastersllc.com
John Hyatt is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to John Hyatt For This Useful Post:
CarpenterSFO (03-05-2015), deckman22 (03-05-2015), parkers5150 (03-05-2015)
Old 03-05-2015, 11:20 AM   #11
Talking Head
 
EthanB's Avatar
 
Trade: Poking Things With Sticks
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,388
Rewards Points: 438

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


If budget is an issue and you have to have composite then I think John is right on with the color matched screws. Anything else is going to cost more.

I like the look of STK cedar and it's very inexpensive but it is soft and may not be the look you want. It does stain really well so some color isn't out of the question. I personally wouldn't stain a railing as that's heck of a lot of work to redo when the time comes.

Wait until you see the cost of a railing system.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaws View Post
Planer.....
EthanB is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to EthanB For This Useful Post:
parkers5150 (03-05-2015)
Old 03-05-2015, 06:09 PM   #12
Pro
 
EricBrancard's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 7,365
Rewards Points: 986

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


Does Camo really cost anymore than face screwing if you're doing it yourself? Doesn't seem like it would and it's acting as the spacer as well.

Face screwing isn't that bad either. I still see plenty of decks around with visible fasteners.
EricBrancard is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 07:16 PM   #13
Pro
 
TG Deck's Avatar
 
Trade: exterior carpentry
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 753
Rewards Points: 1,770

Re: Opinions On Decking And Fastening Systems...


Quote:
Originally Posted by EricBrancard View Post
Does Camo really cost anymore than face screwing if you're doing it yourself? Doesn't seem like it would and it's acting as the spacer as well.

Face screwing isn't that bad either. I still see plenty of decks around with visible fasteners.
The cost of the tool...and extra time, plus the special screws are a tad more.
Those screws aren't self-tapping...in case you plan to use them for other projects.

My vote is to just do a nice p/t pine deck. Seal it well.
Heck, with the price of composites, you could lay two new decks of top boards with No. 1 p/t...and it would always looks nice.

If you're a cedar type of guy, look at that, but close up the joists to 12", like composite, imo.

Added:
Being in N TX, if you go w/pressure treat and have clear southern exposure, I wouldn't space the top boards. They will shrink within a month to a nice spacing. Do space for cedar and composite.

Advertisement


Last edited by TG Deck; 03-05-2015 at 07:42 PM.
TG Deck is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?