Get 6" X 6" Porch Posts Off The Concrete - Decks & Fencing - Contractor Talk

Get 6" X 6" Porch Posts Off The Concrete

Old 04-01-2019, 05:14 AM   #1

Trade: General Residential
Rewards Points: 8
Question

Get 6" X 6" Porch Posts Off The Concrete

Newbie here, thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Customer has seven 6" x 6" x 7' square porch posts supporting the roof. The posts are painted, treated, general 6x6s, nothing fancy and have been in place for well over 25 years.

Each post sits right on the concrete deck with a vinyl railing between each post. I was hired to repair/replace one of them that had significant rot at the base. I ended up removing the entire post and replacing with a new 6x6 treated post on an aluminum pedestal base to keep it off of the ground. Not only did the homeowner not like the look of the Simpson post bases, the side "straps" on the Simpson interfered with the mounting brackets of the vinyl bottom rail.

Here are my questions:

1. The new 6x6 was not as heavy as the original post (3/16" thinner) so I had problems with reinstalling the vinyl rail. Suggestions? Don't tell me to cut down an 8x8, please.

2. The other six posts should be lifted off the ground before they rot too. I plan on using a floor jack to support the structure, one post at a time. Then, I need to cut 1" off of the bottom of each post while still in place. Suggestions on making an accurate/straight cut this close to the concrete? Chainsaw? Or do I pull it completely out and deal with top ornamental moulding and railing later?

3. I was able to secure the pedestal base to the new post before putting it in place. Any suggestions on attaching a pedestal base to a post already in place? Or is this where I need a Simpson base?

Open to suggestions, but I don't want to complicate a seemingly easy task of jacking up the roof, cutting an inch off the post bottom, sliding in a base to elevate it, then calling it a day.

Image from street view attached.