Whole House Wired - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Whole House Wired

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2014, 06:23 AM   #1
Pro
 
pappagor's Avatar
 
Trade: general contractor
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: mn mayo
Posts: 1,307
Rewards Points: 32

Whole House Wired


going back to a new home today that the whole house is wired with 12 2 with ground nm. all switches and outlets are on 20 amp breaker. the sparky said that this builder has been doing it for some time now.have you seen or did it. sparky did say that the light fixtures were rated at 20 amp.
pappagor is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 01-20-2014, 07:57 AM   #2
Pro
 
tyb525's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling and Carpentry
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Eastern Indiana
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Whole House Wired


We always use 12-2 or bigger, never 14.

Advertisement

__________________
I work for a GC, and I do woodworking as a hobby. I also cut most of my own lumber for that with a Woodmizer LT10 sawmill.

Dull tools cause accidents. Sharpen your tools before they get dull!
tyb525 is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 08:26 AM   #3
Pro
 
txgencon's Avatar
 
Trade: General & Electrical Contracting
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,480
Rewards Points: 432

Re: Whole House Wired


Me, too. One city in my area (Waxahachie) requires it (minimum #12).

I call BS on the 20 amp rated light fixtures. Perhaps he meant light switches.
__________________
I used to think a lot of the people I encountered were stupid - then I realized how much I was overestimating them.
txgencon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2014, 09:10 AM   #4
Pro
 
Red Adobe's Avatar
 
Trade: Metal Roofs, Sparky , Remodels and beer specialist
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eastern NM / West Tx
Posts: 1,214
Rewards Points: 92

Re: Whole House Wired


#12 is the norm here as well.
Makes for less wire carried on the truck so I like it
Red Adobe is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 09:14 AM   #5
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 8,114
Rewards Points: 758

Re: Whole House Wired


If its what your area requires then great. Our electrician does the lighting circuits and bedrooms on 14g on 15 amp breakers. Everything else is 12g with 20 amp. If your house is split up nicely, 14g will never be a problem. Really it comes down to what your sparky wants to do.
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 09:14 AM   #6
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 25,715
Rewards Points: 4,152

Re: Whole House Wired


12 commercial 14 residential here.
Inner10 is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 09:26 AM   #7
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,952
Rewards Points: 11,772

Re: Whole House Wired


Quote:
Originally Posted by pappagor View Post
.......... sparky did say that the light fixtures were rated at 20 amp.
Hilarious. Have some fun and ask for proof.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
Old 01-20-2014, 10:29 AM   #8
Pro
 
cwatbay's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Carlos, California
Posts: 1,407
Rewards Points: 2,470

Re: Whole House Wired


For what little residential we do, I use 12awg for everything, based on load that will use a 20amp breaker. So lighting and circuits (other than stoves, dryers, etc that use higher loads) we use 20amp breakers.

Exceptions are when we work on existing circuits that already have 15amp breakers and 14awg wiring, then we keep all those the same.
cwatbay is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 10:40 AM   #9
stacker of sticks
 
jlsconstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: home remodeling, new construction
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Auburn NY
Posts: 8,502
Rewards Points: 590

Re: Whole House Wired


You electricians are a lazy bunch
jlsconstruction is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 11:16 AM   #10
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,952
Rewards Points: 11,772

Re: Whole House Wired


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlsconstruction View Post
you electricians are a wildly efficient bunch
fify.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
jlsconstruction (01-20-2014)
Old 01-20-2014, 11:25 AM   #11
master hacker of wood
 
FRAME2FINISH's Avatar
 
Trade: restoration carpentry
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: cny
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 1,730

Re: Whole House Wired


I used 12/2 on everything as well, sure it's harder to bend but atleast it won't break when you do it!
FRAME2FINISH is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 11:34 AM   #12
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,952
Rewards Points: 11,772

Re: Whole House Wired


Quote:
Originally Posted by FRAME2FINISH View Post
I used 12/2 on everything as well, sure it's harder to bend but atleast it won't break when you do it!
Anyone who routinely breaks either 12 or 14 when wiring a house is doing something terribly wrong.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
Dustincoc (01-23-2014), Eric K (01-20-2014), JumboJack (01-21-2014), Mac13 (01-29-2014), slowsol (01-20-2014), woodchuck2 (01-21-2014)
Old 01-20-2014, 11:34 AM   #13
Pro
 
CarpenterSFO's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 7,076
Rewards Points: 2,044

Re: Whole House Wired


Quote:
Originally Posted by pappagor View Post
.. sparky did say that the light fixtures were rated at 20 amp.
Pappagor:
Do you mention that because you had a question about the potential legality/code compliance? If you are, then no, there's not a problem wiring a lower amp lighting fixture into a 20-amp branch. Your sparky might have said that in order to assure you that they were legal, and couldn't think of a better way to express it, so he BS'd some.
__________________
- Bob
CarpenterSFO is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 12:29 PM   #14
Registered User
 
pcijohn's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician, plumber
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 18

Re: Whole House Wired


Here in Western NC, We usually see #12 and #14, but the 14 is usually just for lighting circuits.
pcijohn is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 02:46 PM   #15
Thom
 
thom's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 4,137
Rewards Points: 4,748

Re: Whole House Wired


Though we may use a 15A breaker if we choose, all circuits with receptacles must be #12 minimum. We use #12 throughout with the exception of the smoke detector circuit which is #14 on a 15A breaker.
__________________
Patriotism is being loyal to your country all the time and your government when it deserves it. Mark Twain
thom is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 03:26 PM   #16
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,952
Rewards Points: 11,772

Re: Whole House Wired


Quote:
Originally Posted by thom View Post
......all circuits with receptacles must be #12 minimum. .......

Local code?
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
Old 01-20-2014, 03:47 PM   #17
Pro
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodel and new build Colorado @ 7651 FT
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,193
Rewards Points: 1,428

Re: Whole House Wired


I had a BI who used to argue/discuss that receptical circuts should be limited to 15A.....

His argument was that why do you want to pump 20A to a lamp cord that could short to a person with 20A rather than 15A or would not trip untill 20+ amp.

I guess his best argument would be #12 on a 15 breaker as far as safety is concerned.

(He did not dispute code or anything, just would argue that way.)
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 03:51 PM   #18
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,952
Rewards Points: 11,772

Re: Whole House Wired


Eh.

15 amps.

20 amps.



You're dead just the same.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
CarpenterSFO (01-20-2014), MTN REMODEL LLC (01-20-2014)
Old 01-20-2014, 03:57 PM   #19
Pro
 
CarpenterSFO's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 7,076
Rewards Points: 2,044

Re: Whole House Wired


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Eh.

15 amps.

20 amps.



You're dead just the same.
Yep, it only takes fraction of an amp to kill you. A GFI is more likely to save your life than an overcurrent breaker.
__________________
- Bob
CarpenterSFO is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 04:02 PM   #20
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,952
Rewards Points: 11,772

Re: Whole House Wired


Quote:
Originally Posted by CarpenterSFO View Post
Yep, it only takes fraction of an amp to kill you. A GFI is more likely to save your life than an overcurrent breaker.
Only difference is 15 or 20 amps may cook you, depending on how long you "stay on the grill". You'll smell like a BBQ at your (closed casket) funeral.

Advertisement

__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no wires to house...how can this be done... Pennyroyal's Technology 25 11-28-2011 10:28 AM
Pipes to Attic? Old House Mystery. JRSeifert General Discussion 20 10-15-2011 05:15 PM
Working on a house that's for sale? PierceIdaho General Discussion 10 07-28-2011 04:46 PM
Extreme Makeover House Bergstrom Finish Carpentry 6 10-10-2009 10:49 AM
The coolest house ever? HusqyPro General Discussion 24 08-14-2009 08:45 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?