Walk-in Tub On Arc Fault Circuit - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Walk-in Tub On Arc Fault Circuit

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2018, 11:09 PM   #1
Pro
 
MarkJames's Avatar
 
Trade: Handyman Services
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 8,050
Rewards Points: 18,873

Walk-in Tub On Arc Fault Circuit


I'm meeting with my electrician later in the week on this, but am curious now.

Home inspection says that the motor of a walk-in tub (as seen on tv) appears to be protected by an Arc fault breaker. They want Fit GFCI protected.

Would that be simply done by adding a GCI prior to the motor, or do I need a feed from a non-AFCI protected circuit?

Thanks.
MarkJames is online now  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-27-2018, 11:36 PM   #2
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 9,204
Rewards Points: 1,782

Re: Walk-in Tub On Arc Fault Circuit


You can add a GFI, you can do a combo unit, if it's a 2 pole circuit you didn't need the AFI.

Tom

Advertisement

tjbnwi is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to tjbnwi For This Useful Post:
MarkJames (11-28-2018)
Old 11-28-2018, 11:43 AM   #3
Pro
 
sunkist's Avatar
 
Trade: builder fl cbc
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: bradenton fl
Posts: 2,475
Rewards Points: 344

Re: Walk-in Tub On Arc Fault Circuit


If I recall all those jetted tubs etc need to have a GFI and the last one I installed had its own 10ft grounding rod per code.
__________________
Still "Shakin" the tree boss
sunkist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2019, 12:55 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Shocking20's Avatar
 
Trade: Electricial
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2

Re: Walk-in Tub On Arc Fault Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by sunkist View Post
If I recall all those jetted tubs etc need to have a GFI and the last one I installed had its own 10ft grounding rod per code.

10ft? Seems kind of long yes if there is a ground fault you want it to get to ground fast!
Shocking20 is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 08:45 AM   #5
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,830
Rewards Points: 11,412

Re: Walk-in Tub On Arc Fault Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shocking20 View Post
10ft? Seems kind of long yes if there is a ground fault you want it to get to ground fast!
And ground rods are NOT for that purpose. Ground rods are TERRIBLE for clearing faults. So terrible, they're not allowed to be used as such.
__________________
If there's a highway to hell and only a stairway to heaven, that pretty much tells you what the traffic patterns are expected to be.
480sparky is offline  
Old 03-17-2019, 04:39 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
C'est Moi's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NC
Posts: 243
Rewards Points: 548

Re: Walk-in Tub On Arc Fault Circuit


Sounds like the unit is 120v so it would need gfci but afci is not required in a bathroom. I assume that is where it is being installed.

Advertisement

C'est Moi is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excess recessed lights on same circuit MarkJames Electrical 42 02-09-2013 04:55 PM
Can You Convert Glass Fuses To Circuit Breakers tonytnt Electrical 18 07-11-2010 05:06 PM
Adding external controller and pump to water heater circuit? protechplumbing Electrical 5 05-12-2010 11:31 PM
Should I Shop At Circuit City For Deals Right Now??? Ed the Roofer General Discussion 13 02-05-2009 07:23 PM
New Basement Circuit dcapone Electrical Picture Post 16 09-30-2008 03:13 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?