Safe Hot Wire - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Safe Hot Wire

Old 04-29-2006, 02:54 PM   #1

Trade: painting
Rewards Points: 10

Safe Hot Wire

Hi, I am new here. I am a specialty painter who mostly works on films. Currently I am building a whole lot of styrofoam mountains. My hot wire machine is in repair and I need a couple back ups. I know they are easy to build But I need some advice to keep it safe.

I am making a 2-8 foot hot wire. In the past I have used ac 110v/15amp outlet with lighting dimmer dial to control wire temp. Attaching the two wires to each end of the nichrome wire. Basically making the hotwire a fuse that heats up. This method I think is a rather dangerous electrocution risk.

I have also used the same system with a variac to control the wire temp. But I assume this still carries the same risks.

I have used a welder as a power source. This converts the power to dc and drops the voltage and raises the amps. I assume I am safer now since I am isolated from the the ground. But it seems a little overkill.

I am now trying to hook a dimmer switch to the household power for wire temp control. Then go through a car battery charger to give me isolation and drop the voltage. With a 10 amp charger I can only heat an 18 inch wire. I am not sure if its the amps or volts that I should increase.

Someone recommended I pick up an isolating transformer and put in a dimming switch after it. This will give me all the power I need, but will keep me isolated from electrocution if something goes wrong.

I would appreciate any ideas on this. My goal is of course making the tool and operation as safe as possible.

Thank you
Tom