Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2019, 03:09 PM   #1
Pro
 
artinall's Avatar
 
Trade: Repairs & Finishing
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,162
Rewards Points: 4,546

Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


This pic: a Halo H71CT can (LED going in).

Does it really matter if using the quick connects or the wires are clipped and nutted?

If I do us them - how far to strip before inserting. And, once they are in, how does a person get them back out if needed?
Attached Thumbnails
Quick Connects vs Wire Nuts-shower-can-install-halo-71ct-5.19.19.jpg  
artinall is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-19-2019, 03:15 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,921
Rewards Points: 11,706

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


It's not a quick-connect. It's a push-in wire splice. The only reason you really need to cut them off and use wire nuts is if you need to splice more wires than they have ports on them for.



There's a strip gauge on the piece itself. Hard to see, but it'll be there.

Advertisement

__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
artinall (05-19-2019)
Old 05-19-2019, 04:50 PM   #3
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 2,636

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Those things are a huge timesaver. I'm sure when wire nuts came out that there were people who refused to switch to them as well.
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to B.Johnson For This Useful Post:
artinall (05-19-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2019, 06:01 PM   #4
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 9,765
Rewards Points: 3,466

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Not allowed to use them in Chicago r most of the AHJ's around Chicago.

Tom

Last edited by tjbnwi; 05-19-2019 at 08:47 PM.
tjbnwi is offline  
Old 05-19-2019, 06:06 PM   #5
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 23,163
Rewards Points: 1,333

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


They're a timesaver, no doubt about it. So's backstabbing.
Tinstaafl is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tinstaafl For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (05-20-2019), TxElectrician (05-20-2019)
Old 05-19-2019, 06:26 PM   #6
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 2,636

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinstaafl View Post
They're a timesaver, no doubt about it. So's backstabbing.
Do you have a point?
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
Old 05-19-2019, 06:43 PM   #7
Pro
 
cedarboarder's Avatar
 
Trade: Workaholic
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: BC Bring Cash
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,296

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


some are good some are crap.
When I was an apprentice sparky I was told to never use them.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
cedarboarder is online now  
Old 05-19-2019, 06:54 PM   #8
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,921
Rewards Points: 11,706

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by cedarboarder View Post
some are good some are crap.
When I was an apprentice sparky I was told to never use them.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
When they first came out, they were all crappy. I had serious, time-consuming/money-costing issues with them. I didn't use them for years. But they've gotten better now.

I still prefer wire nuts even today, but I will use these on occasion.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
Seven-Delta-FortyOne (05-20-2019)
Old 05-19-2019, 07:05 PM   #9
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 8,089
Rewards Points: 702

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


I use the ones in the Halo cans and wafer LEDs but I don't buy loose ones to use as a wire nut. I was taught to use the screws on switches and outlets and still do. My mind tells me that a can light doesn't have internal parts that move or get wear due to use like switches and outlets.
__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is offline  
Old 05-19-2019, 07:19 PM   #10
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 23,163
Rewards Points: 1,333

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Johnson View Post
Do you have a point?
Sure, right at the top of my little head.

Point is, just like backstabbing, those connectors rely on spring pressure to make the connection. Long term, springs lose force much sooner than a properly torqued threaded connection.

I prefer my work to last well beyond the taillight warranty.
Tinstaafl is offline  
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Tinstaafl For This Useful Post:
artinall (05-20-2019), B.Johnson (05-20-2019), Rio (05-19-2019), rrk (05-19-2019), TxElectrician (05-20-2019)
Old 05-20-2019, 05:22 AM   #11
Pro
 
artinall's Avatar
 
Trade: Repairs & Finishing
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,162
Rewards Points: 4,546

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinstaafl View Post
Long term, springs lose force much sooner than a properly torqued threaded connection.

I prefer my work to last well beyond the taillight warranty.
Something to consider.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
It's not a quick-connect. It's a push-in wire splice.
Cooper's calling them quick-connect;
http://www.cooperindustries.com/cont...s/_269408.html
artinall is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 09:04 AM   #12
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,921
Rewards Points: 11,706

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by artinall View Post
.........Cooper's calling them quick-connect;
http://www.cooperindustries.com/cont...s/_269408.html
I don't own Cooper, so I'm not responsible for their ignorance.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
artinall (05-20-2019)
Old 05-20-2019, 11:14 AM   #13
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 3,853
Rewards Points: 2,174

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
I don't own Cooper, so I'm not responsible for their ignorance.
But they do connect quickly.

I agree with 480, when they first came out they universally sucked.

They're a little better now. I still don't use them, except for where they come already installed, like can lights.
__________________
Get Off My Lawn.

"There are no big projects. There are only small machines". - R. G. LeTourneau
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Seven-Delta-FortyOne For This Useful Post:
artinall (05-20-2019)
Old 05-21-2019, 10:31 AM   #14
Pro
 
VinylHanger's Avatar
 
Trade: I'll do that for 500 bucks.
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,647
Rewards Points: 10,258

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Just replaced a light in the kitchen with them. If I hadn't seen this thread I would have been looking for the white nuts I must have lost.

I like them in this case. Put up light fixture, push wire in and turn it on.

This was a LED strip light. Not sure I would want them on a high wattage ceiling fan or fixture.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
Your emergency does not constitute a problem with my Constitution.
VinylHanger is online now  
Old 05-21-2019, 11:43 AM   #15
Pro
 
artinall's Avatar
 
Trade: Repairs & Finishing
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,162
Rewards Points: 4,546

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Up in the attic I see the newer Halo won't work. This is the old Capri that I pulled. Cheap guy (QL 75ICX).

I see where I could replace the socket and rewire but the fixture lost its bulb housing mount and falls through onto the light cover. Then there is the interrupt to replace...

Open hole nearest the left is just under 1" away (edited). While inner to inner span is 22 1/2" and I'm not going to block for this. Can barely reach as it is with connections on the far side and with knees extended through truss chords, hurdling a vent pipe, wiring, etc .

Also, specs that I have found on the Capri have been scant and nowhere has it listed as moisture rated. (where trusses take a change to a right angle)
Attached Thumbnails
Quick Connects vs Wire Nuts-existing-can-attic-5.21.19.jpg  

Last edited by artinall; 05-21-2019 at 12:05 PM.
artinall is offline  
Old 05-21-2019, 01:55 PM   #16
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 3,853
Rewards Points: 2,174

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Had trouble following that post.

Are you saying the new Halo won't fit right next to the truss chord? (Most wont).

If so, use a remodel can. You can even wire it from below, so no more crawling into the attic.
__________________
Get Off My Lawn.

"There are no big projects. There are only small machines". - R. G. LeTourneau
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is offline  
Old 05-21-2019, 03:07 PM   #17
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,921
Rewards Points: 11,706

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Seven-Delta-FortyOne View Post
Had trouble following that post.

Are you saying the new Halo won't fit right next to the truss chord? (Most wont).

If so, use a remodel can. You can even wire it from below, so no more crawling into the attic.
Yeah............ if the original install left a couple feet of extra NM for ya..........
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
Seven-Delta-FortyOne (05-23-2019)
Old 05-21-2019, 03:35 PM   #18
Pro
 
artinall's Avatar
 
Trade: Repairs & Finishing
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,162
Rewards Points: 4,546

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Seven-Delta-FortyOne View Post
Are you saying the new Halo won't fit right next to the truss chord? (Most wont).

If so, use a remodel can. You can even wire it from below, so no more crawling into the attic.
Did a Halo remodel can, clipped in easily from below. Was about $18 with the standard can around $10.

Did have to crawl the attic however to detach for some slack on the romex so it could be pulled down through.

Used the stock connectors.

Last edited by artinall; 05-21-2019 at 03:39 PM.
artinall is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to artinall For This Useful Post:
overanalyze (05-21-2019), Seven-Delta-FortyOne (05-21-2019)
Old 05-23-2019, 01:34 PM   #19
Pro
 
cedarboarder's Avatar
 
Trade: Workaholic
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: BC Bring Cash
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,296

Re: Quick Connects Vs Wire Nuts


retrofit cans I don't mind the quick connects. Not much space in the box and they seem to save room.

Advertisement

cedarboarder is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Plank Replacement Tip PrecisionFloors Flooring 5 05-23-2013 07:20 PM
No Grounding Wire on Remodel Kastoria Electrical 29 03-06-2013 06:19 PM
Ground wire problem jhcontracting Electrical 24 02-18-2013 08:43 PM
welded wire fence medusa Decks & Fencing 23 10-21-2011 01:00 PM
Push In Wire Nuts Capt Electrical 12 02-22-2008 09:07 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?