Need 240V Outlet - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Need 240V Outlet

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2014, 09:49 PM   #1
3 Jacks 2 Nines
 
bwiab's Avatar
 
Trade: Wannabe Homebuilder
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arvada Colorado
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 294

Need 240V Outlet


I need to add a 240v outlet in my garage. My panel is full, but there is a dedicated 240v for the AC right where I want to put the outlet. Other than it being against code, any issues with putting the 240 on the ac circuit? AC is only used in the summer and the outlet would only be used for a router I have that runs once a week for a few hours.

Or i guess is 220v....
Attached Thumbnails
Need 240V Outlet-imag2482.jpg  
bwiab is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 03-09-2014, 10:17 PM   #2
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 23,517
Rewards Points: 322

Re: Need 240V Outlet


Why would it be against code?

Advertisement

Tinstaafl is offline  
Old 03-09-2014, 10:37 PM   #3
stacker of sticks
 
jlsconstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: home remodeling, new construction
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Auburn NY
Posts: 8,502
Rewards Points: 590

Re: Need 240V Outlet


I'd add a sub panel if you're already full.
jlsconstruction is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2014, 10:52 PM   #4
3 Jacks 2 Nines
 
bwiab's Avatar
 
Trade: Wannabe Homebuilder
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arvada Colorado
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 294

Re: Need 240V Outlet


I was told that any built in or appliance is to have a dedicated circuit. True?

I'm renting right now and can't foot the bill for the landlord to get a whole new panel
bwiab is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 12:19 AM   #5
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,591
Rewards Points: 172

Re: Need 240V Outlet


If you were renting from me and you started messing with the electrical system of MY house, you wouldn't be renting from me any more.

If you have to ask this question, YOU shouldn't be doing the work...especially on a rental where you have no business changing things even if you did know how.
__________________
Jim P.
jproffer is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (03-10-2014)
Old 03-10-2014, 12:24 AM   #6
3 Jacks 2 Nines
 
bwiab's Avatar
 
Trade: Wannabe Homebuilder
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arvada Colorado
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 294

Re: Need 240V Outlet


You're making several assumptions here. All of them are wrong. First of all... I'm not doing this work by myself. I know my limitations and I don't mess with electrical. Second... I'm getting quotes to present options to the landlord. I'm simply not going to pay for a new panel for him. Oh and third... even though I'm renting... I'm also a landlord. Keep your assumptions to yourself and if you have any real advice to contribute feel free to post again.
bwiab is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 12:55 AM   #7
Pro
 
B.D.R.'s Avatar
 
Trade: renovation carpenter
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 1,556
Rewards Points: 1,990

Re: Need 240V Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
If you were renting from me and you started messing with the electrical system of MY house, you wouldn't be renting from me any more.

If you have to ask this question, YOU shouldn't be doing the work...especially on a rental where you have no business changing things even if you did know how.
He has every right to state his opinion.
As your post is somewhat lacking in detail, it was a reasonable assumption
B.D.R. is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to B.D.R. For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (03-10-2014)
Old 03-10-2014, 02:32 AM   #8
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,591
Rewards Points: 172

Re: Need 240V Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by bwiab View Post
You're making several assumptions here. All of them are wrong. First of all... I'm not doing this work by myself. I know my limitations and I don't mess with electrical. Second... I'm getting quotes to present options to the landlord. I'm simply not going to pay for a new panel for him. Oh and third... even though I'm renting... I'm also a landlord. Keep your assumptions to yourself and if you have any real advice to contribute feel free to post again.
This makes no sense. Just because you are A landlord doesn't mean you own the house you're getting ready to work on, but anyhow...

Yes I did assume that you were doing the work:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwiab View Post
I need to add a 240v outlet in my garage. My panel is full, but there is a dedicated 240v for the AC right where I want to put the outlet. Other than it being against code, any issues with putting the 240 on the ac circuit? AC is only used in the summer and the outlet would only be used for a router I have that runs once a week for a few hours.

Or i guess is 220v....
I can't imagine why. But since I was wrong, then I guess I partially retract my statement.

I've been dealing with tenants too long. Most of them would think nothing of ripping that box open, hacking in a 240 receptacle because they saw some moron on youtube do it, so it must be ok, plug their router into it and run the AC full bore while running it.

Now here's the rest of the story: More than likely that receptacle they installed would be just dangling on a piece of romex...and too small romex at that...and I'm not talking about a covered 240V rec., like a dryer would use...oh no, I'm talking a standard wall receptacle. If I'm lucky they might have wrapped tape around the connections. It MIGHT even be electrical tape, but that's a stretch.

And it wouldn't surprise me in the least if they had just stripped the wires on the router* and pushed them into the receptacle because they bought the wrong one and are too lazy/stupid/cheap to go get the correct one.

*What the HELLLL kinda router do you have that runs on 240V anyway? LOL
__________________
Jim P.
jproffer is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 02:38 AM   #9
stacker of sticks
 
jlsconstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: home remodeling, new construction
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Auburn NY
Posts: 8,502
Rewards Points: 590

Re: Need 240V Outlet


I have 2 Bosch routers that are 220
jlsconstruction is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 03:10 AM   #10
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,591
Rewards Points: 172

Re: Need 240V Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlsconstruction View Post
I have 2 Bosch routers that are 220
I guess I've just never seen one. Just wondered.

Is it a router table, or a handheld? (I mean a real router table, not a handheld one added on under a bench)
__________________
Jim P.
jproffer is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 03:31 AM   #11
stacker of sticks
 
jlsconstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: home remodeling, new construction
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Auburn NY
Posts: 8,502
Rewards Points: 590

Re: Need 240V Outlet


They both are hand held, I have them mounted. One of them even has a plunge base on it. They are at least 20 years old
jlsconstruction is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 03:35 AM   #12
Pro
 
m1911's Avatar
 
Trade: finish carpenter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,819
Rewards Points: 15,632

Re: Need 240V Outlet


I've got a few tools from Germany, actually 230 volt.

BTW, residential is 120/120/240 in the states, not 110/220, but whatever...
m1911 is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 06:06 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY State
Posts: 2,411
Rewards Points: 1,244

Re: Need 240V Outlet


In my own home I would not think twice about it.
In a place I rent no way I'd do it.
__________________

Speedy Petey is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 09:38 PM   #14
3 Jacks 2 Nines
 
bwiab's Avatar
 
Trade: Wannabe Homebuilder
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arvada Colorado
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 294

Re: Need 240V Outlet


eh eh eh ok... I thought it was 240, but when I posted the pic the cover was labeled 220. had me all confused. I'm considering purchasing a cnc router. It's single phase but can come in at 120 or 240. I got about 10 different quotes telling me about 10 different things and appreciate you all's input to clarify the logistics.

JP i probably reacted a bit quick there. Thanks for taking the time to post.
bwiab is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 10:20 PM   #15
Pro
 
txgencon's Avatar
 
Trade: General & Electrical Contracting
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 450

Re: Need 240V Outlet


If you have someone who knows what they're doing, buy this 2:1 2 kVA transformer (or a similar device) and have them set it up as a portable converter.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/EGS-Hevi-Dut...5#ht_22wt_1312
__________________
I used to think a lot of the people I encountered were stupid - then I realized how much I was overestimating them.
txgencon is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:41 AM   #16
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,591
Rewards Points: 172

Re: Need 240V Outlet


HOLY SHEEOT ...$84 shipping on a $60 item.

bwiab, I may have jumped on ya too quickly too...like I said, I've been dealing with tenants for a long time. If I had one that I thought had any sense, I wouldn't mind them doing SOME things as long as they don't hesitate to ask if they have trouble. But I've only ever seen a few that had that kind of sense .

Guess that's what makes this forum fun. One person jumps down another one's throat, then backs off and takes a second thought about it, and takes it back.
__________________
Jim P.
jproffer is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
B.D.R. (03-12-2014)
Old 03-12-2014, 08:55 AM   #17
Pro
 
txgencon's Avatar
 
Trade: General & Electrical Contracting
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 450

Re: Need 240V Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
HOLY SHEEOT ...$84 shipping on a $60 item.

bwiab, I may have jumped on ya too quickly too...like I said, I've been dealing with tenants for a long time. If I had one that I thought had any sense, I wouldn't mind them doing SOME things as long as they don't hesitate to ask if they have trouble. But I've only ever seen a few that had that kind of sense .

Guess that's what makes this forum fun. One person jumps down another one's throat, then backs off and takes a second thought about it, and takes it back.
It's a $500+ item new.
__________________
I used to think a lot of the people I encountered were stupid - then I realized how much I was overestimating them.
txgencon is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:57 AM   #18
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,591
Rewards Points: 172

Re: Need 240V Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by txgencon View Post
It's a $500+ item new.
Still seems high. I know insurance and all, but damn...is it heavy?
__________________
Jim P.
jproffer is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:28 AM   #19
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 23,517
Rewards Points: 322

Re: Need 240V Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
I know insurance and all, but damn...is it heavy?
That's pretty much a given for a Sola.

About 45 lbs.
Tinstaafl is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:39 AM   #20
Pro
 
txgencon's Avatar
 
Trade: General & Electrical Contracting
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 450

Re: Need 240V Outlet


Only about 35#.


I shipped one about that size with the "If it fits, it ships" for $9.95 with the USPS.

Not sure how big the one on eBay actually is.

Advertisement

__________________
I used to think a lot of the people I encountered were stupid - then I realized how much I was overestimating them.
txgencon is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need to add a ceiling light to a switch that activates an outlet supafly917 Electrical 23 12-10-2012 05:03 PM
Outlet and retun temps? BCConstruction HVAC 4 07-03-2012 03:52 AM
Additional Outlet For TV with no Wall Damage - Solution ? plazaman Electrical 56 01-22-2012 08:05 PM
Dead Outlet, Circuit LNG24 Electrical 32 11-07-2008 06:35 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?