Moving Sub Panel - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Moving Sub Panel

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2014, 12:56 PM   #1
Pro
 
Kastoria's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom Metal Fabrication/Residential Construction
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago/New York
Posts: 225
Rewards Points: 154

Moving Sub Panel


Moved a kitchen and bathroom wall so now need to move the sub panel approx 12-15". Really not much but all the bx to the panel was cut really tight so my only option is to extend the wires through some 4x4 boxes.

Inside the panel I have some 12ga and 14ga wires to the breakers, I also have one line that is 10ga into a 15amp breaker- I know this line controls several outlets and some lights. Somewhere between the box and those outlets it drops back down to 12 and 14's.

Can I make all my extensions using 12ga bx even the 10ga wire (since its only doing the work of a 14ga wire)? I have about 60ft of 12ga bx from another remodel, having to buy 14 and especially 10ga in a minimum roll of 25ft is crazy expensive.
Thanks guys
Kastoria is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 02-12-2014, 03:53 PM   #2
New Guy
 
Fault Current's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 18

Re: Moving Sub Panel


You can use #12 for the whole job but the #14 circuits you extend will still need 15 A breakers max. The #10 extensions using #12 will be protected by 20 A breakers max.

Advertisement

__________________
Hard at work since 1970 and still working, kind of....
Fault Current is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Fault Current For This Useful Post:
Kastoria (02-12-2014)
Old 02-12-2014, 04:45 PM   #3
Pro
 
Kastoria's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom Metal Fabrication/Residential Construction
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago/New York
Posts: 225
Rewards Points: 154

Re: Moving Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fault Current View Post
You can use #12 for the whole job but the #14 circuits you extend will still need 15 A breakers max. The #10 extensions using #12 will be protected by 20 A breakers max.
Thanks, I kinda figured I could but much rather check first. Still can't explain why #10 wire is in a 15 amp breaker to power up outlets. Just seems like a waste but whatever.

There are so many dif gauge wires from one box to the next its like he used left over scraps...there were 3, 3" pig tails in the panel to let the main reach the breaker lol
Kastoria is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2014, 08:40 PM   #4
Thom
 
thom's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 4,137
Rewards Points: 4,748

Re: Moving Sub Panel


I can explain the #10 (oversize) wire, happened to me once, one of my guys screwed up.
__________________
Patriotism is being loyal to your country all the time and your government when it deserves it. Mark Twain
thom is offline  
Old 02-12-2014, 09:22 PM   #5
Pro
 
muskoka guy's Avatar
 
Trade: framer/builder
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Muskoka Ontario
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 558

Re: Moving Sub Panel


I stopped doing wiring for money many years ago as I am not an electrician, and my insurance doesn't cover me for doing it, even though I have wired many houses and additions over the years. Saving the homeowner a few bucks and exposing yourself to serious liability is just not worth it. If something was ever to happen that homeowner would throw you under the bus in a heart beat. jmho
muskoka guy is offline  
Old 02-13-2014, 07:45 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY State
Posts: 2,411
Rewards Points: 1,244

Re: Moving Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kastoria View Post
Moved a kitchen and bathroom wall so now need to move the sub panel approx 12-15". Really not much but all the bx to the panel was cut really tight so my only option is to extend the wires through some 4x4 boxes.

Inside the panel I have some 12ga and 14ga wires to the breakers, I also have one line that is 10ga into a 15amp breaker- I know this line controls several outlets and some lights. Somewhere between the box and those outlets it drops back down to 12 and 14's.

Can I make all my extensions using 12ga bx even the 10ga wire (since its only doing the work of a 14ga wire)? I have about 60ft of 12ga bx from another remodel, having to buy 14 and especially 10ga in a minimum roll of 25ft is crazy expensive.
Thanks guys
So you're doing electrical work for clients, on remodel jobs, and you are bothered that when you buy 25' rolls of #14 it costs too much????
If you are serious in doing electrical work, and you have a clue about what you're doing, just buy 250' rolls and use it on the next job like a real contractor.
__________________

Speedy Petey is offline  
Old 02-13-2014, 07:46 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY State
Posts: 2,411
Rewards Points: 1,244

Re: Moving Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by muskoka guy View Post
I stopped doing wiring for money many years ago as I am not an electrician, and my insurance doesn't cover me for doing it, even though I have wired many houses and additions over the years. Saving the homeowner a few bucks and exposing yourself to serious liability is just not worth it. If something was ever to happen that homeowner would throw you under the bus in a heart beat. jmho
THIS! This is the real answer.

Advertisement

__________________

Speedy Petey is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel music9704 Electrical 9 06-23-2013 02:56 PM
Meter Installation After Panel Change olds_84_67 Electrical 6 06-12-2013 06:52 PM
Help with new panel problems cwatbay Electrical 10 03-18-2013 05:31 PM
Installing a refrigerator end panel??? 232323 Finish Carpentry 8 03-15-2013 02:39 PM
Melting neutral wire in panel WarnerConstInc. Electrical 52 12-27-2010 05:14 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?