Maintenance Jobs, Billing The Customer, Profit On Small Invoices - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Maintenance Jobs, Billing The Customer, Profit On Small Invoices

Old 06-09-2014, 10:36 AM   #1
New Guy

Trade: General
Rewards Points: 16

Maintenance Jobs, Billing The Customer, Profit On Small Invoices

I'm starting to help my father in law with his small electrical business. I'm a project manager for an earthwork and site work contractor, so I am familiar with the industry. My question is regarding the smaller maintenance calls he makes (less than 2K). He does ok on his larger jobs (2-15K), is able to mark up and make some money. But when I look at what he charges for these smaller simpler jobs, there's no money in the jobs. Not sure if he is charging enough or invoicing them correctly.

Any advice regarding maintenance calls? Is there a standard minimum charge? Any advice on how to bill customers? Sometimes he sends out an electrician for a few hours and bills a few hundred bucks (materials plus $65 an hour). Once you factor gas, wages, etc...we aren't covering overhead and definitely not making any profit.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 06-09-2014, 03:05 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Electrical
Rewards Points: 3,262

Re: Maintenance Jobs, Billing The Customer, Profit On Small Invoices