Location Of Disconnect? - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Location Of Disconnect?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2008, 03:59 PM   #1
New Guy
 
jimb317's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25

Location Of Disconnect?


I am mounting two transformers up on the wall aprox 16 feet. Do I need disconnects for the line side of the transformers? The panel feeding the transformers is NOT in site. Can the disconnects be mounted up next to the tranformers? I will mount them 6 foot to the top, but this is a question that came up today.
jimb317 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 09-18-2008, 05:00 PM   #2
Service & Repairs
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rahway, New Jersey
Posts: 4,001
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


Of course you need overcurrent protection on your line side. I'm not sure of the article but I suspect that it would dangerous be to have the only disconnect for the transformer 16' up in the air. I believe it would need to be not accessible, but readily accessible.

Advertisement

Magnettica is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 05:14 PM   #3
Member
 
pat c's Avatar
 
Trade: ELECTRICAL
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


u have to put it, if ur line is protected put a disconect NF.
pat c is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2008, 05:20 PM   #4
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,683
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


Just put a lockoff device on the breaker that feeds that transformer, where ever that might be. Problem solved.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 06:00 PM   #5
New Guy
 
jimb317's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


as far as overcurrent protection. The transformers are being fed from individual breakers to each transformer, the breakers are about 60' from location but around a corner.
jimb317 is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 06:38 PM   #6
Member
 
pat c's Avatar
 
Trade: ELECTRICAL
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


i always put a disconect
pat c is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 06:52 PM   #7
listen twice talk once!
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orange county California
Posts: 668
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by pat c View Post
i always put a disconect
Who's money are you spending?
Bkessler is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:09 PM   #8
Member
 
pat c's Avatar
 
Trade: ELECTRICAL
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


lolll maybe thats why hes asking , always calculate it in ur price, then its up to u
pat c is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:12 PM   #9
Member
 
pat c's Avatar
 
Trade: ELECTRICAL
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


how do i put an avatar ?
pat c is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:38 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
knothole's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Electrictian
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Middle TN.
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by pat c View Post
how do i put an avatar ?
Click on user CP (upper left in blue line) then click on edit avitar and follow directions.........
__________________
Follower of Jesus Christ
knothole is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 08:03 PM   #11
Member
 
pat c's Avatar
 
Trade: ELECTRICAL
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


thanks
pat c is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 08:09 PM   #12
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,683
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by pat c View Post
lolll maybe thats why hes asking , always calculate it in ur price, then its up to u
It would be great if you could type out actual sentences, and not these silly IM abbreviations my teenagers use.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 08:13 PM   #13
Member
 
pat c's Avatar
 
Trade: ELECTRICAL
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


ok...
pat c is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 08:14 PM   #14
Member
 
pat c's Avatar
 
Trade: ELECTRICAL
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


I mean Okay
pat c is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 09:33 PM   #15
Pro
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician Phoenix AZ
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 537
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


Quote:
I mean Okay
Mark....you gotta admit, THAT was funny.


__________________
Just because it's within code doesn't make it safe.

Just because it's against code doesn't make it unsafe.
220/221 is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 03:58 PM   #16
Service & Repairs
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rahway, New Jersey
Posts: 4,001
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


TWPF (that was pretty funny!)
Magnettica is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 04:01 PM   #17
 
berci electric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Location Of Disconnect?


a lock-out is legal, but not really safe. an "is sight" disconnect would be the safest way to go.

Advertisement

berci electric is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sprinkler head location code AustinDB Commercial Construction 7 01-28-2008 06:43 PM
Is a main disconnect code requierment? pitterpat Electrical 25 11-11-2007 10:58 AM
what type gravel for wet location AustinDB Concrete & Paving 4 05-17-2007 07:31 PM
Seperate Location VS Home Office realpurty2 General Discussion 20 05-10-2006 05:10 AM
Location Location Location Tom R Off Topic (Non Trade) 3 11-06-2005 10:50 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?