I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet - Electrical - Contractor Talk

I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 02:57 PM   #1
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


I have an outlet that has constant power going to the top half of the outlet. The bottom half of the outlet only turns on by turning on the light switch.

This switch only activates the bottom half of this outlet. There are no ceiling lights. The light switch gang box has 12-3 wire coming from the outlet. The hot wire is going in one side of the switch and the neutral (used as a hot) is connected to the other side of the switch, going back down to the outlet.

This 12-2 is the only wire in the box. I already ran 14-2 from the center of the ceiling to the light switch, but haven't connected anything.

I thought about leaving the hot wire connected to the switch as is, and cutting an extra 6" wire and connecting that to the neutral (to/from the outlet) and to the ceiling light lead. But then I have an extra white wire from my ceiling light. Do I replace the original 12-2 from the outlet to the switch with 14-3 or 12-3? and connect the extra wire to the white at the switch, and back again to whites at the outlet?
supafly917 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-10-2012, 03:04 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,840
Rewards Points: 11,450

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


What size is the circuit fuse or breaker?

It is 12-2 or 12-3 between the outlet and switch?

Advertisement

__________________
If there's a highway to hell and only a stairway to heaven, that pretty much tells you what the traffic patterns are expected to be.
480sparky is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:07 PM   #3
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


I did not wire this. This outlet and switch is one of three. There are three bedrooms. This switch and outlet is connected to a 30 amp cuz the guy had cabinet making tools in his garage. That is why there is 12 gauge wire, unless its 10 gauge. But whoever wired it has mixed 12 and 14 all over the place.

The other two bedrooms are connected to 15 amp breakers.
And between the outlet and switch is just 12-2, black, white and ground.

Last edited by supafly917; 12-10-2012 at 03:10 PM.
supafly917 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2012, 03:09 PM   #4
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


Oh yeah and between the outlet and switch it is just 12-2, black, white and ground
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:11 PM   #5
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,840
Rewards Points: 11,450

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


So it's on a 30amp breaker?
__________________
If there's a highway to hell and only a stairway to heaven, that pretty much tells you what the traffic patterns are expected to be.
480sparky is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:13 PM   #6
Pro
 
aptpupil's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 2,643
Rewards Points: 1,894

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


none of this is good. you call a white wire neutral, even though it's not in this case. you're hooking up 14/2 where there is already 12 gauge wire, but it may actually be 10 gauge....my instincts say you should hire a professional.
aptpupil is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:15 PM   #7
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


ya its 30 amp
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:16 PM   #8
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,840
Rewards Points: 11,450

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by supafly917 View Post
ya its 30 amp
Quit and call an electrician. You have more issues than just not having a light in the ceiling. And these issues are fire hazards, not just convenience ones.
__________________
If there's a highway to hell and only a stairway to heaven, that pretty much tells you what the traffic patterns are expected to be.
480sparky is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:16 PM   #9
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


not hiring a pro, that what forums are for. i know its a white wire from the switch to outlet. from the switch to light its needs to be neutral.
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:17 PM   #10
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,840
Rewards Points: 11,450

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


Forums are not about walking the uneducated through something they're not qualified to do just so they can hack something in on top of already hack work.

STOP AND CALL A PRO.
__________________
If there's a highway to hell and only a stairway to heaven, that pretty much tells you what the traffic patterns are expected to be.
480sparky is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
aptpupil (12-10-2012)
Old 12-10-2012, 03:19 PM   #11
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


ok now both of you guys think i should quit. whats wrong with adding an extra wire? you are saying that this deal is as messed up as i thought. at least adding an extra wire makes most sense to me. What is wrong with that?
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:22 PM   #12
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,840
Rewards Points: 11,450

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by supafly917 View Post
ok now both of you guys think i should quit. whats wrong with adding an extra wire? you are saying that this deal is as messed up as i thought. at least adding an extra wire makes most sense to me. What is wrong with that?
It's messed up FAR MORE than you think.
__________________
If there's a highway to hell and only a stairway to heaven, that pretty much tells you what the traffic patterns are expected to be.
480sparky is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:23 PM   #13
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


480sparky, this is on my buddy's house, he has about $100 to spend. I'm not sure if or how hacked the job already is. How serious is the 30 amp breaker? The first thing is I told my buddy to swap it for a 15, but he said his dad said it was fine. Don't really want to change out the 12 guage anyways.
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:25 PM   #14
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


and its definitely 12 guage, not 10
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:26 PM   #15
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


if its far more messed up, i don't think he can afford it
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:27 PM   #16
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,840
Rewards Points: 11,450

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by supafly917 View Post
480sparky, this is on my buddy's house, he has about $100 to spend. I'm not sure if or how hacked the job already is. How serious is the 30 amp breaker? The first thing is I told my buddy to swap it for a 15, but he said his dad said it was fine. Don't really want to change out the 12 guage anyways.
Anyone who puts resi lights and outlets on a 30a circuit has NO CLUE about wiring. That alone raises an entire field of red flags. I would suspect there's a lot more issues that need to be addressed at this point.

He would best spend his $100 on hiring a pro to lay a pair of qualified, trained eyes on all that.
__________________
If there's a highway to hell and only a stairway to heaven, that pretty much tells you what the traffic patterns are expected to be.
480sparky is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:30 PM   #17
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


K, thanks, I told him the same thing, pay 50 or 100 bucks just to get it figured out. do you think a pro would come out here just to figure it out and then let me do the rest.

With the 30 amp breaker, like I was saying, that was the first thing I wanted to switch out. Why don't I just switch that to 15, and swap the 14-3 in for the 12-2?? No?
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:31 PM   #18
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


I'm also agreeing with you that they had no clue what they were doing.
supafly917 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:34 PM   #19
Pro
 
aptpupil's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 2,643
Rewards Points: 1,894

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by supafly917 View Post
480sparky, this is on my buddy's house, he has about $100 to spend. I'm not sure if or how hacked the job already is. How serious is the 30 amp breaker? The first thing is I told my buddy to swap it for a 15, but he said his dad said it was fine. Don't really want to change out the 12 guage anyways.
If your buddy's dad knows so much, then he should do it.
You're on the right track with swapping it out for a 15A. Electrical isn't something you want to mess around with unless you're trained by a competent professional. "Penny wise" can turn into "pound foolish" real fast if a fire breaks out.
Good luck.
aptpupil is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 03:36 PM   #20
Registered User
 
supafly917's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: I Need To Add A Ceiling Light To A Switch That Activates An Outlet


So in theory, my proposal works though, right? You're just saying not to do it, cuz you can't see it.

Advertisement

supafly917 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing a Hunter ceiling fan on a concrete ceiling dale rex Electrical 24 07-17-2012 06:12 PM
Outlet and retun temps? BCConstruction HVAC 4 07-03-2012 03:52 AM
light switch plate blank darren Electrical 12 06-14-2007 07:06 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?