GFCI Receptacle - Electrical - Contractor Talk

GFCI Receptacle

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2013, 07:31 PM   #1
Registered User
 
yonexwood's Avatar
 
Trade: Floors and Interior Walls
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

GFCI Receptacle


I have a water softener installed outside the house under the eves. It is plugged into an outside receptacle by way of a GFCI which has a cover on it. The water softener is converted to 12v by way of a transformer plugged into the GFCI.
I have had the WS for 10years & 3 GFCI have gone bad. The last one lasted 1year. Do I need a GFCI or can I go with a regular receptacle & do you have any ideas on the poor GFCI performance. (The GFCI in the bathroom does not trip when the outside one does)
Yonexwood
yonexwood is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-06-2013, 07:40 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,318
Rewards Points: 12,826

Re: GFCI Receptacle


Get a GFCI that is WR rated, and install an in-use cover.

Advertisement

__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-06-2013)
Old 06-06-2013, 10:43 PM   #3
Tech Geek
 
WarriorWithWood's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling Guru
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Feasterville, Pa.
Posts: 2,636
Rewards Points: 1,366

Re: GFCI Receptacle


I bet a GFCI breaker will last longer but this is only a guess.
__________________
-Dennis
WarriorWithWood is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2013, 06:11 PM   #4
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 26,075
Rewards Points: 5,076

Re: GFCI Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Get a GFCI that is WR rated, and install an in-use cover.
Wall worts often don't fit in them. Put the transformer inside and run a low voltage wire out to the unit.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
Old 06-07-2013, 06:21 PM   #5
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,318
Rewards Points: 12,826

Re: GFCI Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inner10 View Post
Wall worts often don't fit in them. Put the transformer inside and run a low voltage wire out to the unit.
I guess I missed the wall wart being mentioned.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
Old 06-07-2013, 06:23 PM   #6
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 26,075
Rewards Points: 5,076

Re: GFCI Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
I guess I missed the wall wart being mentioned.
I figured if it was outside it wouldn't be a brick.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
Old 06-11-2013, 06:57 PM   #7
Registered User
 
yonexwood's Avatar
 
Trade: Floors and Interior Walls
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

Re: GFCI Receptacle


If the 12v transformer is a wall wart? It is out side plugged into the GFI inside a WR cover.
yonexwood

Advertisement

yonexwood is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI breaker vs GFCI Receptacle gravtyklz Electrical 15 11-06-2019 05:42 PM
What will kill a GFCI receptacle? thom Electrical 7 03-31-2011 02:30 PM
GFCI Receptacle Thomp Electrical Picture Post 18 11-23-2010 11:30 AM
GFCI breaker - that sensitive? geospec Electrical 14 07-24-2010 10:05 AM
AFCI breaker and GFCI receptacle ? Bubbles Electrical 7 10-18-2007 08:40 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?