Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle. - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2010, 07:33 PM   #1
General Contractor
 
Laketahoedan's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Olympic Valley CA.
Posts: 300
Rewards Points: 276

Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


I am bringing power, coaxial and Ethernet outlet from the lower wall to behind a flatscreen and am wondering what is the best way to do so.

I ideally do not want to eliminate the existing Ethernet outlet but would like to T-off it if possible. The coaxial just needs a T in the existing box and the power will just tie into the existing.

thanks
Laketahoedan is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 04-25-2010, 07:39 PM   #2
Member
 
crazyboy's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Ethernet needs a separate drop from the router/switch to each device.

Advertisement

crazyboy is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 07:42 PM   #3
General Contractor
 
Laketahoedan's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Olympic Valley CA.
Posts: 300
Rewards Points: 276

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyboy View Post
Ethernet needs a separate drop from the router/switch to each device.
So every outlet in the house comes from a separate router switch?

I cannot have one source in 2 locations?
So then I would want to eliminate it from the existing source.

or..
Would I just want to leave it where it is and if they need it at the TV then they can pull it through the smurf tube?

thanks
Laketahoedan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2010, 07:58 PM   #4
Chief outhouse engineer
 
dakzaag's Avatar
 
Trade: mason
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 1,418
Rewards Points: 786

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Its not really that difficult to accomplish. They sell y's for both cables. It does take some special tools to make it all come together. Probably not worth it to buy the tools for one install. Check with a tv guy or electritian might have the supplies.

You can probably get every thing you need at radio shack, but if you want it all behind the wall and cover plates like it should, your going to need a pro that does this.

An ISP tech. would have the cat 5 supplies.
__________________
D K & Sons
The maintenance schedule for brick
1. Stand back and say "man that looks nice!"
2. Repeat as often as needed.
dakzaag is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 09:23 PM   #5
Pro
 
TimelessQuality's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central America (Kansas)
Posts: 4,732
Rewards Points: 1,730

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


A small hub is what you need, although a switch could be configured to work as well...
__________________
-Steve

'It takes considerable knowledge just to realize the extent of your own ignorance.'-Thomas Sowell
TimelessQuality is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 09:48 PM   #6
MattMatt
 
mwhafner's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling/Renovation
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


You cannot Y off ethernet cabling, period. A bridge, hub, switch or router must be in place for connectivity.
mwhafner is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 10:16 PM   #7
Chief outhouse engineer
 
dakzaag's Avatar
 
Trade: mason
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 1,418
Rewards Points: 786

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


I can, not sure what you can do,
__________________
D K & Sons
The maintenance schedule for brick
1. Stand back and say "man that looks nice!"
2. Repeat as often as needed.
dakzaag is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 10:19 PM   #8
Member
 
crazyboy's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Laketahoedan View Post
So every outlet in the house comes from a separate router switch?

I cannot have one source in 2 locations?
So then I would want to eliminate it from the existing source.

or..
Would I just want to leave it where it is and if they need it at the TV then they can pull it through the smurf tube?

thanks
Yes each Ethernet "outlet" has to come from a separate port on the switch. You can however daisy chain switches, so if you want to put a switch there and plug the current ethernet cable into one of the ports, another ethernet cable for whatever is currently plugged in into another port, and then one for the tv can go to another port. That would work fine.
crazyboy is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 10:20 PM   #9
Member
 
crazyboy's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dakzaag View Post
I can, not sure what you can do,
I would like to see this happen.
crazyboy is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 11:22 PM   #10
Pro
 
TimelessQuality's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central America (Kansas)
Posts: 4,732
Rewards Points: 1,730

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


A 'y' might work, if the two devices are never on simultaneously..
__________________
-Steve

'It takes considerable knowledge just to realize the extent of your own ignorance.'-Thomas Sowell
TimelessQuality is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 11:37 PM   #11
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 26,074
Rewards Points: 5,074

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Quote:
or..
Would I just want to leave it where it is and if they need it at the TV then they can pull it through the smurf tube?
Excellent idea, I run ENT everywhere and a few years down the road it always gets used.

Quote:
Its not really that difficult to accomplish. They sell y's for both cables. It does take some special tools to make it all come together. Probably not worth it to buy the tools for one install. Check with a tv guy or electritian might have the supplies.
...you don't setup alot of networks eh?

Please allow me to set you straight.

Golden Rule of low voltage: Home run independent runs. Not T-offs, No daisy chains, no splices. Unless you absolutely have to.

Is this a rough in or a retro job?

Do not "t-off" an Ethernet jack. Either eliminate the original jack and use a male/female 8P8C to join them. If it is a retro situation and you need a data jack at both locations and only have one run of cat-5 you can pair-off the 4 spare conductors and extend them...just looks a little messy at both ends.

Splitting cable at its location will work but you are not making life easy when the next guy has to determine why the signal is weak at that drop and finds a splitter buried inside a box.
Inner10 is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 11:47 PM   #12
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 26,074
Rewards Points: 5,074

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Quote:
A small hub is what you need, although a switch could be configured to work as well...
You might have to go to a museum to find a hub a little un-managed switch would work fine and requires no configuration...plug and play. Only problem is they won't fit inside an electrical box and require power.

Quote:
A 'y' might work, if the two devices are never on simultaneously..
True...but that's asking for future trouble...

When I mentioned using the 4 spare conductors you can buy cat-5 dividers but its easy enough to do it yourself here's a little tutorial:

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-...22splitter%22/

Just keep in mind you still need an extra port on your switch at the head-end and if one device needs POE you are SOL.
Inner10 is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:39 PM   #13
Member
 
dcapone's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Installation
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 91

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


I think what dakzaag was implying with his Y connection is that fast ethernet only requires 2 twisted pairs of cable and most cat5 cable includes 4 pairs for GigE support. You can technically split these but using 2 seperate "sets' of 2 pairs on each end of the run.

For example, the existing outlet can be wired:

Pin 1: W/G
Pin 2: G
Pin 3: W/Or
Pin 6: Or

The blue and brown pair can then tie into another 8P8C connector and wired:

Pin 1: W/Bl
Pin 2: Bl
Pin 3: W/Br
Pin 6: Br

This can then be coupled to the new jack.

The other end of the Cat5 cable that goes into your router/switch would then have to be reterminated using wiring that matched the "Y" end.

This would be a fairly reliable way to provide 2 FastE jacks over a single Cat5 cable.
dcapone is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:14 PM   #14
MattMatt
 
mwhafner's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling/Renovation
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Quote:
I think what dakzaag was implying with his Y connection is that fast ethernet only requires 2 twisted pairs of cable and most cat5 cable includes 4 pairs for GigE support. You can technically split these but using 2 seperate "sets' of 2 pairs on each end of the run.

For example, the existing outlet can be wired:

Pin 1: W/G
Pin 2: G
Pin 3: W/Or
Pin 6: Or

The blue and brown pair can then tie into another 8P8C connector and wired:

Pin 1: W/Bl
Pin 2: Bl
Pin 3: W/Br
Pin 6: Br

This can then be coupled to the new jack.

The other end of the Cat5 cable that goes into your router/switch would then have to be reterminated using wiring that matched the "Y" end.

This would be a fairly reliable way to provide 2 FastE jacks over a single Cat5 cable.
Will it work? yes
Will it work reliably? probably
Is it correct? no
mwhafner is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:15 PM   #15
Pro
 
tbronson's Avatar
 
Trade: Project Management
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 421
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


You can split them if you are aiming for only 10/100 as you are only using 1-3,6 (two pairs) on a cat-5 cable which has 4 pair.

1 -> TX+
2 -> TX-
3 <- RX+
6 <- RX-

So you could use 4-5,7-8 spliced out into another run. This however is *REALLY* not recommended. And you would need to split both ends of the cable and feed the head end (end that goes into the switch/hub) into another port.

Frankly it would be easier to just take the existing cable, connect it into a cheap 4 port switch (they call it a switch but it really isn't in my opinion its just a smart hub) or dumb hub if you can find one, clip the head end RJ-45 and re-pin it into a crossover cable so that the hub/switches will pass traffic correctly, and extend your run from the remote hub(where you want to make the splice) to your end point. The pinout for a cross over is as follows:

1 --> 3
2 --> 6
3 --> 1
6 --> 2
tbronson is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:16 PM   #16
Pro
 
tbronson's Avatar
 
Trade: Project Management
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 421
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Weird. A triple post. Sorry folks!

Last edited by tbronson; 05-06-2010 at 01:23 PM.
tbronson is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:22 PM   #17
Pro
 
tbronson's Avatar
 
Trade: Project Management
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 421
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Weird. A triple post. Sorry folks!
tbronson is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:28 PM   #18
Pro
 
tbronson's Avatar
 
Trade: Project Management
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 421
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Had another thought... You could also setup two wireless bridges to bridge between the two drops or you could do Ethernet over power plug...
tbronson is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 04:37 PM   #19
Registered User
 
sparks1up's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


Chances are that the Ethernet cable comes down the wall from the attic. So pull it out of the lower box and run it to the new box but don't cut it. Put a blank plate on the unused lower box and if you ever decide to move your TV and want the Ethernet outlet back down there drop the cable back down. If you don't use it now chances are by the time you need it you'll probably have a wireless router and not need it after all!
sparks1up is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 05:59 PM   #20
General Contractor
 
Laketahoedan's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Olympic Valley CA.
Posts: 300
Rewards Points: 276

Re: Easiest Way To T Off A Cat 5 Receptacle.


I just ran a peice of cat6 from the existing box to the new. if they find they need it in the new location later then they can couple to it, but for now the old location is still live with the option to enable the new one later.

thanks for all the great info.

Advertisement

Laketahoedan is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP me find a 2-Gang 1-Decora Centered Device Receptacle Wallplate hevnbnd Electrical 27 10-31-2013 04:55 PM
GFI receptacle wiring Midwestguy954 Electrical 97 01-13-2013 12:05 PM
How to wire a Receptacle? Bubbles Electrical 49 12-30-2009 05:39 PM
Fountain receptacle dmanola7 Electrical 5 05-12-2009 10:12 PM
Easiest way to check license & insurance? eaglegreen Roofing 6 11-14-2008 10:00 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?