Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2015, 11:21 PM   #1
improving homes
 
platinumLLC's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing/Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,034
Rewards Points: 354

Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


I was on a job today and saw the electrician installing a post lamp light. He was using direct burial UF wire from the house to post lamp. All he did was stick his shovel in 4-6 inches and lift the ground up and slip the wire in the hole and then take the shovel out and stomp the ground back down. I'm not an electrician so don't have a clue but 4-6 inches seems like it should be buried deeper so someone doesn't cut it planting flowers. What is the code for how deep UF wires need to be buried to post lamps?

Also, should a post lamp be set in concrete or just in dirt? I went out after he left and it was really loose, as in I could wiggle it very easy. He just piled the dirt back in around it. Just seemed like an all around hack install and I've never even put one in. Just wondering if he was a hack or if what he did is alright?
platinumLLC is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-13-2015, 11:26 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ
 
griz's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: ex-calif
Posts: 23,719
Rewards Points: 60

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Minimum 24" buried.

Post Lamp needs to be set in concrete or bolted to concrete.

Advertisement

__________________
SOME JOBS JUST AREN'T WORTH DOING:
griz is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to griz For This Useful Post:
greg24k (05-14-2015)
Old 05-13-2015, 11:46 PM   #3
improving homes
 
platinumLLC's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing/Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,034
Rewards Points: 354

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by griz View Post
Minimum 24" buried.

Post Lamp needs to be set in concrete or bolted to concrete.
This guy missed that by a lot. Wow. Wire is 6" at the most and post is just set in hole with dirt piled back in, not even tamped down. I'm going to mention something to the home owner tomorrow, feel sorry for them paying for that kind of work.

So 24" depth is NEC code? Also the concrete is NEC code? Just so I can be sure I'm telling the HO the truth.
platinumLLC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2015, 05:09 AM   #4
Box Builder
 
Morning Wood's Avatar
 
Trade: Pretty much anything with wood and some metals
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 6,306
Rewards Points: 6

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


24" for a piece of wire. I wouldn't bother. 6" is definitely not enough. 12" would probably be safe enough. Is the lamp post wood? He probably doesn't have much knowledge on hand tamping and tightening a post. Done right it can be made very tight.
Morning Wood is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 05:21 AM   #5
General Contractor
 
greg24k's Avatar
 
Trade: New Home Construction-Additions-Remodeling
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,874
Rewards Points: 26

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


What others said, open wiring not in conduit should be buried at least 24" below the surface and wiring in plastic conduit is 18" below the surface.
__________________
I never lost a cent on the jobs I didn't get!
greg24k is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 05:57 AM   #6
Pro
 
BCConstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 16,392
Rewards Points: 2,394

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Around here 6-10" seems normal for 110v lines to lights and stuff.

Gas lines are anything from 1-2'
Main power coming in is about 3'
Cable and telephone about 3"-6"
Low voltage about 3"-6"

Gas lines are what get me. Some are so close to surface it's crazy.
__________________
www.bcconstructionllc.com
BCConstruction is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 06:56 AM   #7
Member
 
Michael217's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 198

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Could be only 12" if the circuit is 120 volts or less and is GFCI protected and 20amps or less.

No NEC requirements on how the post is installed.

300.5 NEC, 2014 cycle

Last edited by Michael217; 05-14-2015 at 06:58 AM.
Michael217 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Michael217 For This Useful Post:
C'est Moi (06-06-2015)
Old 05-14-2015, 07:09 AM   #8
Pro
 
deter's Avatar
 
Trade: Project Managment & hack-of-all-trades
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Midwest
Posts: 261
Rewards Points: 44

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


sadly 99 out of 100 post lights are installed exactly the way described in the OP. I've actually seen electricians run the wire directly on top of the dirt (rough-grade) assuming that someone else will bury it.
deter is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 08:45 AM   #9
Pro
 
GettingBy's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Improvement/handyman
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DC area
Posts: 2,622
Rewards Points: 6,486

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Seems to me there is supposed to be some kind of plate over the wire so a shovel would hit this barrier before hitting the wire. One of Ray Mullin's books might have said this.
GettingBy is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 10:52 AM   #10
Pro
 
cwatbay's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Carlos, California
Posts: 1,443
Rewards Points: 2,570

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael217 View Post
Could be only 12" if the circuit is 120 volts or less and is GFCI protected and 20amps or less.

No NEC requirements on how the post is installed.

300.5 NEC, 2014 cycle
This is correct. Although I personally have my firm bury conduit at 18 inch no matter the amps (residential).

This whole thing sounds like craigs list hack work to me, and, if this was a licensed electrician, someone should yank his license ASAP.

I have seen 20amp 120vac direct burial romex (UF-B) running to light poles via the expansion cracks in concrete walkways at an auto dealership. Nothing much surprises me anymore. I also lost the bid on this job cus I was going to bore under the walkways to run conduit.
cwatbay is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 11:20 AM   #11
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 4,850
Rewards Points: 226

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by GettingBy View Post
Seems to me there is supposed to be some kind of plate over the wire so a shovel would hit this barrier before hitting the wire. One of Ray Mullin's books might have said this.
Where do you get so much mis-information from??




Delta
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Seven-Delta-FortyOne For This Useful Post:
TxElectrician (05-18-2015)
Old 05-14-2015, 11:38 AM   #12
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 6,922
Rewards Points: 174

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by Seven-Delta-FortyOne View Post
Where do you get so much mis-information from??




Delta
His 2 not 1 but 2 degrees.
rrk is online now  
Old 05-14-2015, 12:39 PM   #13
Pro
 
GettingBy's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Improvement/handyman
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DC area
Posts: 2,622
Rewards Points: 6,486

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by Seven-Delta-FortyOne View Post
Where do you get so much mis-information from??
Delta
I think it was this guy
http://www.amazon.com/Electrical-Wir.../dp/1435498267

It doesn't seem that different from using nailing plates and I'd think you could go less deep if you use rot-resistant protective boards.

It seems I will never be forgiven for my two degrees (not just one) but on the bright side it might distract people from my offensive personality.
GettingBy is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 01:17 PM   #14
Pro
 
avenge's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Not here
Posts: 3,239
Rewards Points: 362

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


I always run underground wire in conduit.
avenge is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 01:18 PM   #15
Pro
 
avenge's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Not here
Posts: 3,239
Rewards Points: 362

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


I always run underground wire in conduit and post in concrete.

Evidently I do it twice.
avenge is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 02:27 PM   #16
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 26,075
Rewards Points: 5,076

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by platinumLLC View Post
This guy missed that by a lot. Wow. Wire is 6" at the most and post is just set in hole with dirt piled back in, not even tamped down. I'm going to mention something to the home owner tomorrow, feel sorry for them paying for that kind of work.

So 24" depth is NEC code? Also the concrete is NEC code? Just so I can be sure I'm telling the HO the truth.
If it's a low voltage light that's kosher.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
Red Adobe (05-28-2015)
Old 05-14-2015, 02:56 PM   #17
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 4,850
Rewards Points: 226

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by GettingBy View Post
It doesn't seem that different from using nailing plates and I'd think you could go less deep if you use rot-resistant protective boards.
Yeah, that's how I do it.

I did a big commercial job, with 28 lamp posts, about 6000 feet total.

The electrical portion wasn't so bad, but the steel plates in the ground really ran the price up.


Delta
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 07:58 PM   #18
Pro
 
GettingBy's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Improvement/handyman
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DC area
Posts: 2,622
Rewards Points: 6,486

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by Seven-Delta-FortyOne View Post
Yeah, that's how I do it.

I did a big commercial job, with 28 lamp posts, about 6000 feet total.

The electrical portion wasn't so bad, but the steel plates in the ground really ran the price up.


Delta
This could be a straw man argument. I'm getting better at spotting them.

If it's any consolation, less than a half percent of my last degree is still relevant today.
GettingBy is offline  
Old 05-14-2015, 08:08 PM   #19
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 6,922
Rewards Points: 174

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by GettingBy View Post
This could be a straw man argument. I'm getting better at spotting them.

If it's any consolation, less than a half percent of my last degree is still relevant today.
much less
rrk is online now  
Old 05-14-2015, 08:11 PM   #20
Pro
 
GettingBy's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Improvement/handyman
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DC area
Posts: 2,622
Rewards Points: 6,486

Re: Depth To Bury Wire For Post Lamp


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrk View Post
much less
On this forum its value may run into negative numbers.

Advertisement

GettingBy is offline  



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bury the posts? ckseppa General Discussion 22 04-17-2013 11:28 PM
Finding break in boundary wire mpt1123 Low Voltage 3 05-21-2012 06:46 PM
Wire Transfer? DaVinciRemodel Business 2 11-29-2011 04:23 PM
3-way wiring- ceiling fan with remote for two-wire hookup hevnbnd Electrical 29 08-17-2009 10:28 PM
safe hot wire driver Electrical 13 05-12-2006 10:18 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?