DC AmProbe - Electrical - Contractor Talk

DC AmProbe

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-25-2010, 03:45 PM   #1
Union Electrician
 
Sparky Joe's Avatar
 
Trade: Inside Wireman
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 500

DC AmProbe


Learned something new yesterday;
My truck lately has been a bit hard to start in the mornings, giving the typical "lug-lug-lug" sound before starting up, even though my battery is just a year old.

I put my inexpensive model of Fluke around the ground to see if there was current leaking while the truck was off. I saw nothing, but to test the idea I flipped on the headlights while watching the meter. The meter jumped instantly, then just as fast read zero again.

I scratched my head and realized my amprobe only see fluctuations in current such as with AC.
With DC it only sees the initial rush of current and while the current is steady it cannot see it.

I found it somewhat interesting, and am now curious if there is an amprobe out there (perhaps someone out there owns) that will read DC?

About the truck; I dug out my old Radio Shack analog meter and found out nothing about the truck because I got too busy playing with the meter and eventually burned the fuse out.

Joe
Sparky Joe is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-25-2010, 06:04 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,386
Rewards Points: 13,036

Re: DC AmProbe


Fluke, Amprobe, UEI, and GB, et al, all make what you're looking for.

Advertisement

__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
Old 05-25-2010, 10:53 PM   #3
Pro
 
Kgmz's Avatar
 
Trade: General, Electrical, and Plumbing Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portland, OR & Eatonville, WA
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 500

Re: DC AmProbe


I bought one just for use with my motorhome. Nice to know how many amps something is drawing so you can determine how long the batteries will last, etc. since we normally dry camp with ours with no hook ups.

I got a alert from the RV forums a few years back on one at Sears that was on closeout for $29, and that little meter actually works great and is accurate. I have compared it with the several meters I have collected throught years, Fluke, Amprobe, UEI, etc. and it reads within less than 1% of them on AC. Don't know who makes them for Sears.

Here is a link to the newer version at Sears for $59.
http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...2369000P?mv=rr
Kgmz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2010, 07:23 AM   #4
Pro
 
s.kelly's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: virginia
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 150

Re: DC AmProbe


I have a clip on analog meter that is made just for battery and starter draw measurements. Cannot remember where I got it, but it must have been either an auto parts shop or a tool truck. When I get out to the garage I'll try and see if it has a name on it. I am sure it was cheap, only used it once or twice, but nice to have when you need it.

It is about the size of a credit card, and about 1/2"thick.

Have also used a meter with DC for trouble shooting like 480 describes. As an electrician you may find other uses so a more versatile meter might be more the ticket. I was not an electrician when I got mine so I was too cheap to get a real meter with the DC probe.
s.kelly is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 03:08 PM   #5
Head Grunt
 
woodchuck2's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor&Home Maintenance
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Creek, NY/Lower Adirondacks
Posts: 3,270
Rewards Points: 2,196

Re: DC AmProbe


I was a mechanic for a GM dealer and for a Chrysler dealer so i have spent some coin on meters but believe it or not i never bought a fluke. I have always wanted a fluke but coudnt see spending the money. I did buy an off brand "cant remember the name" clip on digital meter that could read amp draw up to 200amps for ac and dc and this i used several times checking car alternators and amp draw on starters. The dealers also had equipment too but sometimes it wasnt worth waiting for when there were 13-15 other guys trying to use it. I also use this meter for adjusting the hertz settings on generators. In all i have around 8 meters, i keep one in each truck, a couple in the trailer, one at home, one at my other house which i run my business out of and a couple in my mechanics tool box.
woodchuck2 is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 04:43 PM   #6
Pro
 
CE1's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 886
Rewards Points: 500

Re: DC AmProbe


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky Joe View Post
Learned something new yesterday;
My truck lately has been a bit hard to start in the mornings, giving the typical "lug-lug-lug" sound before starting up, even though my battery is just a year old.

I put my inexpensive model of Fluke around the ground to see if there was current leaking while the truck was off. I saw nothing, but to test the idea I flipped on the headlights while watching the meter. The meter jumped instantly, then just as fast read zero again.

I scratched my head and realized my amprobe only see fluctuations in current such as with AC.
With DC it only sees the initial rush of current and while the current is steady it cannot see it.

I found it somewhat interesting, and am now curious if there is an amprobe out there (perhaps someone out there owns) that will read DC?

About the truck; I dug out my old Radio Shack analog meter and found out nothing about the truck because I got too busy playing with the meter and eventually burned the fuse out.

Joe
Here is an old one..... AC or DC

DC AmProbe-meter.jpg
CE1 is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 05:22 PM   #7
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,386
Rewards Points: 13,036

Re: DC AmProbe


Instead of buying a high-$ meter, why not pay your electrician to come over and take a reading with his high-$ meter?
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
Old 05-29-2010, 09:20 AM   #8
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 24,021
Rewards Points: 24

Re: DC AmProbe


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Instead of buying a high-$ meter, why not pay your high-$ electrician to come over and take a reading with his high-$ meter?
Fixed it for ya.
Tinstaafl is online now  
Old 05-29-2010, 07:07 PM   #9
Moderator
 
Double-A's Avatar
 
Trade: GC - Remodeling Specialists
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 4,617
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: DC AmProbe


The electrician we use is old school. He calibrates his tongue with a 9V battery and then just licks the post or bare wire to check amperes. He's only been wrong twice, and that was because he was laying unconscious, with his tongue smoking.
__________________
"My clients’ wishes are the center of my attention." -- David Guido, a contractor in Woodstock, N.Y.
New York Times, July 20, 2006
Double-A is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 05:32 AM   #10
Registered User
 
mikhen's Avatar
 
Trade: Solar Electrician
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: DC AmProbe


We use Fluke 336 at work to check our solar panels. They measure constant amps on DC.

Advertisement

mikhen is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire tracer info PAterminator Electrical 18 09-30-2007 08:07 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?