Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection. - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 12:29 AM   #1
huntington beach, ca.
 
hbelectric's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 362
Rewards Points: 250

Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection.


I'm doing an inspection and I'm not positive on using 4 sq boxes with round mud ring for a ceiling fan. I see them all over this commercial building.
hbelectric is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-11-2011, 03:21 AM   #2
Pro
 
Doubleoh7's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 490
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection.


Quote:
Originally Posted by hbelectric View Post
I'm doing an inspection and I'm not positive on using 4 sq boxes with round mud ring for a ceiling fan. I see them all over this commercial building.

Are they rated for ceiling fan support??? It is a rhetorical question. If they are, I've never seen such a thing!

Advertisement

Doubleoh7 is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 05:38 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY State
Posts: 2,411
Rewards Points: 1,244

Re: Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection.


When were they installed? Could very well have been fine at the time.
__________________

Speedy Petey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2011, 02:15 PM   #4
huntington beach, ca.
 
hbelectric's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 362
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection.


Some of the fans were installed where lights once were, 40 years old. Then 6 fans are newly piped in, surface mounted pipe and 4sq boxes. Its a church so the fans are directly over seating.

They asked me to come look at the place and give them a letter, for insurance company, so they could get or renew their liability insurance. Well I have a list pretty
Long, the fans might be nitpicky, but I don't think they are rated for a fan or maybe they could be moldified to be safe. Maybe ad lag bolts from fan support, directly to the beam the 4 sq. Is on. That would be solid, as long as it is just not 8/32 screws holding the fan up.
hbelectric is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 03:54 PM   #5
Pro
 
TxElectrician's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 7,039
Rewards Points: 3,094

Re: Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection.


if you are not a licensed inspection firm I would run from this. At the very least I would make sure your inspection report limits your liability to what you can see.

Too much liability for me to feel comfortable signing off on the condition of an existing building.
TxElectrician is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 05:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Plumbing Zombie's Avatar
 
Trade: Plumbing and Electrical, Building
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection.


The reason a fan box is rated for support is that the machine screws are threaded through the back of the box and the front, not an issue of box mounting hardware, also supplied with lock nuts.
Plumbing Zombie is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 12:56 AM   #7
huntington beach, ca.
 
hbelectric's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 362
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Ceiling Fans On 4sq Box And Doing Insurance Inspection.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TxElectrician View Post
if you are not a licensed inspection firm I would run from this. At the very least I would make sure your inspection report limits your liability to what you can see.

Too much liability for me to feel comfortable signing off on the condition of an existing building.
Yeah and i'm not good enough with contracts to save my ass, plus ive already told them im too busy and way to busy too deal with more paperwork jobs. The whole liability thing, doesn't sound good for me.
But I will unofficially send them my list of corrections, since they are people I know personally.

Advertisement

hbelectric is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?