Carpenter Has Electrical Question - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Carpenter Has Electrical Question

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Localday's Avatar
 
Trade: General contractor
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75

Carpenter Has Electrical Question


I'M a carpenter not an electrician, not wanting to bother my electrician on Sunday here goes, I wanna run a circuit in my basement for two freezers, I have some 12-2 and a couple receptacles, can i run both freezers on one circuit? I may put a fridge down there some day too. What size breaker or breakers do I need? The box is a cutler-hammer, thanks
Localday is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-29-2013, 04:07 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,933
Rewards Points: 11,734

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Maybe.
20.

Advertisement

__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
CarpenterSFO (12-29-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 04:41 PM   #3
Pro
 
plazaman's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling Contractor
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,282
Rewards Points: 1,226

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Careful how you exact questions on here not pertaining to your trade. The tradesman get offended and feel you are taking away jobs from them
plazaman is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to plazaman For This Useful Post:
slowsol (12-29-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2013, 04:52 PM   #4
Wood Craftsman
 
PrestigeR&D's Avatar
 
Trade: High End Remodeling & Refurbishing
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 7,324
Rewards Points: 4,642
Arrow

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Those days are gone.........


When you have Internet ,......"the information superhighway"


http://www.csgnetwork.com/wiresizecalc.html

http://m.wikihow.com/Determine-Amper...ircuit-Breaker


Punch it in, spit out an answer.....


And yet we still get rudimentary questions....

Just saying.....


B,

Last edited by PrestigeR&D; 12-29-2013 at 04:57 PM.
PrestigeR&D is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 04:56 PM   #5
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,933
Rewards Points: 11,734

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by plazaman View Post
Careful how you exact questions on here not pertaining to your trade. The tradesman get offended and feel you are taking away jobs from them
All I can see is how much I can make when I go to his house and find two freezers and a fridge all on one 20a circuit and I get to charge fixing the problem of a constantly-tripping breaker.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
cwatbay (01-03-2014)
Old 12-29-2013, 05:28 PM   #6
Electrical Punk...
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Trade: Master Electrician
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fenway Park
Posts: 571
Rewards Points: 572

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
All I can see is how much I can make when I go to his house and find two freezers and a fridge all on one 20a circuit and I get to charge fixing the problem of a constantly-tripping breaker.
Before the entire block vaporises......


__________________
"A Time For Choosing"
HARRY304E is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 05:32 PM   #7
Member
 
larry228's Avatar
 
Trade: residential remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 6

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


it seems a false economy to put two essential appliances on one circuit. the cost to sun two dedicated circuits has to be less than the potential loss when the breaker trips and two freezers full of food thaw out.
larry228 is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 05:36 PM   #8
Wood Craftsman
 
PrestigeR&D's Avatar
 
Trade: High End Remodeling & Refurbishing
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 7,324
Rewards Points: 4,642
Question

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Iowa to Illinois ...... gas..........you would really travel that far .......



For this,.......





B,
PrestigeR&D is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 05:42 PM   #9
90%-er
 
onmywayup's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 1,071
Rewards Points: 2,104

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Jesus fellas....a simple 'no' would probably have sufficed.

Maybe even, 'no,' and 'let me explain why since you're trying to learn,' if you had a little extra time
onmywayup is offline  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to onmywayup For This Useful Post:
Adamsmith007 (12-29-2013), Doctor Handyman (12-30-2013), kiteman (12-29-2013), maxwage (12-29-2013), pinwheel (12-30-2013), slowsol (12-29-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 05:52 PM   #10
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,933
Rewards Points: 11,734

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by PrestigeR&D View Post
Iowa to Illinois ...... gas..........you would really travel that far .......



For this,.......





B,
I'd just sub it out to Ron.......
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
PrestigeR&D (12-29-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 06:30 PM   #11
Wood Craftsman
 
PrestigeR&D's Avatar
 
Trade: High End Remodeling & Refurbishing
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 7,324
Rewards Points: 4,642
Thumbs up

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Oh that was good!"..........


B,
PrestigeR&D is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 06:55 PM   #12
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,933
Rewards Points: 11,734

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by PrestigeR&D View Post
Oh that was good!"..........


B,
Then I could take the dollar Leo still owes me out of Ron's check and let Ron chase it instead of me.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
PrestigeR&D (12-29-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 07:50 PM   #13
edward trowelhands
 
Golden view's Avatar
 
Trade: Diplomat
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PDX
Posts: 4,511
Rewards Points: 6,254

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Maybe is a good answer. I see a lot of new fridges and freezers with amp ratings of under 4. So if they're all new, 12 amps total running. Maybe 80 amps momentary starting inrush if they all start at the exact same moment, which also probably won't trip a 20a breaker. Right 480?
__________________
You make something idiot proof and the world invents a better idiot.
Golden view is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 09:04 PM   #14
Pro
 
mstrat's Avatar
 
Trade: New Construction & Remodeling
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 885
Rewards Points: 1,500

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Run 2 separate breakers...you'll feel better about your world!
mstrat is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 09:08 PM   #15
Interior Remodeling
 
Eric K's Avatar
 
Trade: Interior Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elizabeth,PA
Posts: 1,275
Rewards Points: 570

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


I'd run 2 separate circuits. Since you have 12/2 already just use it. 20amp breakers. Make sure your using 20amp recepticles also. Your better to be safe than sorry with electrical. You only want to use 80% of the load capacity of circuit. Can't go wrong over killing it.

Edit

Last edited by Eric K; 12-29-2013 at 09:15 PM.
Eric K is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 09:10 PM   #16
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,933
Rewards Points: 11,734

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric K View Post
....Make sure your using 20 recepticles also. ....

Why?
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
jproffer (12-30-2013), WarriorWithWood (01-04-2014)
Old 12-29-2013, 09:13 PM   #17
Interior Remodeling
 
Eric K's Avatar
 
Trade: Interior Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elizabeth,PA
Posts: 1,275
Rewards Points: 570

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky

Why?
20amp*



-also take my advice as a carpenter with electrical expirence. Not licensed. "20 recepticles" probably not the best idea.

Last edited by Eric K; 12-29-2013 at 09:16 PM.
Eric K is offline  
Old 12-30-2013, 06:01 AM   #18
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,548
Rewards Points: 72

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric K View Post
20amp*



-also take my advice as a carpenter with electrical expirence. Not licensed. "20 recepticles" probably not the best idea.
In this case it's not necessary, but in general there's no rule against putting 20 receptacles on a circuit....or 200....or 2000 for that matter. (and they can all be 15A receptacles, BTW. )
__________________
Jim P.
jproffer is offline  
Old 12-30-2013, 07:14 AM   #19
Interior Remodeling
 
Eric K's Avatar
 
Trade: Interior Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elizabeth,PA
Posts: 1,275
Rewards Points: 570

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer

In this case it's not necessary, but in general there's no rule against putting 20 receptacles on a circuit....or 200....or 2000 for that matter. (and they can all be 15A receptacles, BTW. )
Not sure if its code or not. But I had an inspector make me change a 15a receptacle to a 20a on a 20a circuit. If you plug an electric heater that pulls more than 15 the receptacle could fail. Unlikely it would, but could.
Eric K is offline  
Old 12-30-2013, 07:39 AM   #20
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,933
Rewards Points: 11,734

Re: Carpenter Has Electrical Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric K View Post

Not sure if its code or not. But I had an inspector make me change a 15a receptacle to a 20a on a 20a circuit. If you plug an electric heater that pulls more than 15 the receptacle could fail. Unlikely it would, but could.
Show me a resi heater with a 20 amp cord cap.

Advertisement

__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New? Have A Question? Read This First. Seven-Delta-FortyOne General Discussion 55 01-20-2017 11:48 AM
victoria: carpenters apprentice looking for carpenter jimwalter Help Wanted or Looking For Work 0 09-16-2012 05:16 PM
Foil tape question from a carpenter... Jeremy E HVAC 6 12-26-2008 09:52 PM
electrical insurance question roo Electrical 4 04-25-2008 06:09 PM
Question regarding surplus electrical material solcam Electrical 2 07-25-2006 05:31 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?