AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet? - Page 2 - Electrical - Contractor Talk

AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2019, 09:33 AM   #21
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 10,014
Rewards Points: 4,280

Re: AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SLSTech View Post
Breakers finally getting better? Why not just use a combo AFCI/GFCI outlet that feeds all the downstream ones per circuit?
The only thing not to forget is to make sure they are Tamper Resistant also...
Have to look again, but I believe the feeders have to be protected in metal up to the first combo device in this case, due to the AFCI requirement.

Tom
tjbnwi is online now  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 02-16-2019, 09:38 AM   #22
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,969
Rewards Points: 11,812

Re: AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbnwi View Post
Have to look again, but I believe the feeders have to be protected in metal up to the first combo device in this case, due to the AFCI requirement.

Tom
Feeders are not required to be AFCI protected.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
Old 02-16-2019, 12:13 PM   #23
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 4,038
Rewards Points: 126

Re: AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScipioAfricanus View Post
Holy crap!

Now the code is for GFCI & AFCI?!

Is that just California or National?

This marks the first time I have ever been called on such a thing.

Now I have to look at myself as the retarded one.

Andy.
Remember California is one code cycle behind National for the CEC.

The 2016 CEC is based on the 2014 NEC.
__________________
Get Off My Lawn.

"There are no big projects. There are only small machines". - R. G. LeTourneau
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2019, 04:12 PM   #24
Electrical Contractor
 
C'est Moi's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NC
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 550

Re: AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbnwi View Post
Have to look again, but I believe the feeders have to be protected in metal up to the first combo device in this case, due to the AFCI requirement.

Tom
If you use a combo gfci and afci breaker then the circuit is protected so no conduit or metal cable is necessary. If you use a gfci/afci receptacle at the first outlet then you would need to use mc cable, conduit, etc from the panel to that outlet.
C'est Moi is offline  
Old 02-20-2019, 03:00 PM   #25
Registered User
 
manchesterspark's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10

Re: AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Feeders are not required to be AFCI protected.
Believe he is confusing Feeder with Branch Circuit .
manchesterspark is offline  
Old 02-22-2019, 08:21 AM   #26
Pro
 
TxElectrician's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 7,157
Rewards Points: 3,348

Re: AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Look into Leviton panels. Their panels have permanent terminals for ALL the branch circuit wiring that are not on the breakers. The breakers just stab in. You can push in a 'standard' breaker for construction, then swap it out in seconds during trim with a high-$ breaker. No re-wiring needed.



https://www.leviton.com/en/products/...l/load-centers
Went to a Leviton sponsored class last week. I was very impressed with their loadcenters.

In my area distribution will be a huge hurdle for the to cross.

They are coming out with a smart breaker that will allow a wifi connection to their tech to determine if there is an actual fault, or a nucience trip and be able to adjust the electronics remotely. Or so they say.

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
TxElectrician is offline  
Old 04-03-2019, 09:50 PM   #27
back doors to hell put in
 
Irishslave's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Google knows
Posts: 4,038
Rewards Points: 1,422

Re: AFCI & GFCI On Same Outlet?


I think it's unnecessary. Over the years I've seen stuff that should have caught fire but never did. How many FP load centers are out there? Some with aluminum branch feeders. Talk about marginal.

Remember when GFCI first came out? How much shoe leather and tire rubber was worn on dog crap service calls? Same with AFCI.

Advertisement

__________________
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site.

Last edited by Irishslave; 04-03-2019 at 09:55 PM.
Irishslave is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gfci - breaker or outlet? bob_cntrctr Electrical 12 10-06-2009 12:52 PM
Kitchen - use 20A GFCI at start w/ 15A outlets??? tmdelisle Electrical 25 07-28-2009 12:38 AM
AFCI Protection porject in class electrichelper NEC Discussion 2 07-14-2009 06:31 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?