3-way Switch With 14/2 Wire - Electrical - Contractor Talk

3-way Switch With 14/2 Wire

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008, 12:20 AM   #1
Registered User
 
wadswob's Avatar
 
Trade: Design/build
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

3-way Switch With 14/2 Wire


Can someone tell me if it is possible to wire a 3-way switch with 14/2 wire. The situation is as follows. Power enters one switch and from there one 14/2 wire feeds six can lights and another travels to the second switch. Clearly the traveler should be 14/3 wire but mistakes happen and the drywall is up. Is it possible to still wire this as a 3-way? And if so, how?
wadswob is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 09-23-2008, 07:04 AM   #2
Registered User
 
georgiasparky's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical and plumbing
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10

Re: 3-way Switch With 14/2 Wire


If there was a safe way to do this, no one would ever use 14/3. DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!

If you hired a pro, get him/her to come back and fix it. If you did it yourself, hire a pro now -- and have the rest of the wiring checked for your own safety and peace of mind.

Advertisement

georgiasparky is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 07:33 AM   #3
Pro
 
Joasis's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hennessey, Oklahoma
Posts: 9,157
Rewards Points: 3,634

Re: 3-way Switch With 14/2 Wire


Afterthis post and reviewing your other posts, it can be safe to conclude that you are not a pro, please use the diychatroom.com in the future. Thanks.
__________________
Ladwig Construction
Hennessey, Oklahoma
405 853 1563

Insulated Concrete Homes / ICF's
My Facebook Page
Joasis is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple fixtures on switch loop KenHaynes Electrical 2 12-05-2007 03:15 PM
smart light switch circuit toastermaker Electrical 7 12-07-2005 11:45 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?