20 Amp Receptacle Question - Page 2 - Electrical - Contractor Talk

20 Amp Receptacle Question

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2010, 12:12 AM   #21
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,409
Rewards Points: 18

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by essrmo View Post
he was talking about devices,
you guys are talking about recepticles.
Try to keep up.

Receptacles ARE devices. And they do not, and cannot, limit the current to 15 amps, or 20 amps, or whatever they're rated for.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-18-2010, 12:33 AM   #22
Maxi-Pier Tech
 
essrmo's Avatar
 
Trade: foundation specialist
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Riverside, Ca.
Posts: 570
Rewards Points: 810
Lightbulb

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Receptacles ARE devices. And they do not, and cannot, limit the current to 15 amps, or 20 amps, or whatever they're rated for.
switches ARE devices but they are not recepticles.
current limiters are called circuit breakers. that much I do know.
devices are only guaranteed to withstand the current rating.
__________________
we're not in Kansas anymore Toto
essrmo is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 02:12 AM   #23
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,409
Rewards Points: 18

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by essrmo View Post
switches ARE devices but they are not recepticles.
current limiters are called circuit breakers. that much I do know.
devices are only guaranteed to withstand the current rating.
So your point is..... what?
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2010, 08:46 AM   #24
Electrical Contractor
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY State
Posts: 2,411
Rewards Points: 1,244

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by essrmo View Post
he was talking about devices,
you guys are talking about recepticles.
Try to keep up.
Doesn't matter.

This statement is still not at all accurate:
Quote:
15 amp device means just that, 15 amps maximum for safety. Residential quality.
This tells me he thinks all 15A DEVICES are resi grade and cannot be had in spec-grade. You tell me if you thing that is accurate.
__________________

Speedy Petey is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 02:08 PM   #25
Superior Firepower
 
skyhook's Avatar
 
Trade: GC HVAC/R Lic. since 1985
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 3,077' above sea level
Posts: 5,089
Rewards Points: 3,880
Smile

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


What a bunch of cry babies.
skyhook is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 02:10 PM   #26
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,409
Rewards Points: 18

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by skyhook View Post
What a bunch of cry babies.

What do you expect? We're 'just' electricians. We're nothing with our GC gods.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
skyhook (12-18-2010)
Old 12-18-2010, 02:32 PM   #27
Superior Firepower
 
skyhook's Avatar
 
Trade: GC HVAC/R Lic. since 1985
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 3,077' above sea level
Posts: 5,089
Rewards Points: 3,880
Lightbulb

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
What do you expect? We're 'just' electricians. We're nothing with our GC gods.
And they 'Elecrtricians' said "Let there be light"
skyhook is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 02:50 PM   #28
Superior Firepower
 
skyhook's Avatar
 
Trade: GC HVAC/R Lic. since 1985
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 3,077' above sea level
Posts: 5,089
Rewards Points: 3,880
Question

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by essrmo View Post
he was talking about devices,
you guys are talking about recepticles.
Try to keep up.
Who asked you ?
skyhook is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 03:08 PM   #29
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,409
Rewards Points: 18

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by skyhook View Post
And they 'Elecrtricians' said "Let there be light"
No, God said that. I just wired the switch up for Him.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
skyhook (12-18-2010)
Old 12-18-2010, 04:13 PM   #30
Pro
 
Rob PA's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indiana PA
Posts: 801
Rewards Points: 500

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


most commercial places will have all 20amp breakers...depending on what type of equipment they are using they may need 20 a recps

most will have 15 a recps...just depends on the building and places

any medical will require hospital grade recps

many different answers and aspects to your question...most of the sparkys will know more here but you have to kinda try to learn on your own to
Rob PA is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 04:26 PM   #31
Making a living
 
Five Arrows's Avatar
 
Trade: Kitchen and Bathroom remodel, general contractor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lacey, WA
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 182

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by CookeCarpentry View Post
Why are you waiting? I think simply owning it gives you enough experience to fly a jet-fueled bus 30,000 feet in the air.
I have my pilot's license but can someone tell me should I push the steering wheel thingie forward or pull it back in California to go up?
__________________
"Getting paid is a pretty important part"
Five Arrows is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 06:27 PM   #32
Construction Connoissuer
 
CCCo.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Construction Remodeling - Renovations Repairs
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kirklin, IN "Proudly Serving Central Indiana Area"
Posts: 2,024
Rewards Points: 1,320

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Five Arrows View Post
I have my pilot's license but can someone tell me should I push the steering wheel thingie forward or pull it back in California to go up?
First take it apart and see how its made

lol

Never a dull moment with 480 in the house
__________________
James Crow - Crow Contracting Company, LLC - Central Indiana Remodeling Contractor
Facebook l Youtube l Merchant Circle
Home, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - ~ - Facility Maintenance & Repair Solutions

Want to contact us? - Call ~ 765.279.8271
CCCo. is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 07:21 PM   #33
Heavy Weight Champ
 
King of Crown's Avatar
 
Trade: finish carpentry
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: mesa arizona
Posts: 639
Rewards Points: 500

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


oh yeah, i remember why i haven't been on here for 4 years.
__________________
Real nice guys
King of Crown is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 07:46 PM   #34
Electrical Contractor
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY State
Posts: 2,411
Rewards Points: 1,244

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by King of Crown View Post
oh yeah, i remember why i haven't been on here for 4 years.
But we've missed you so much!
__________________

Speedy Petey is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 07:53 PM   #35
New Guy
 
splice's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


You can put a 15 amp recpt. on a circuit that is fed by 12-gauge your ocp must be 15 amp to answer your question
splice is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 10:00 PM   #36
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,638
Rewards Points: 400

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
You can put a 15 amp recpt. on a circuit that is fed by 12-gauge your ocp must be 15 amp to answer your question
That MAY be true in commercial. As I said above, I don't know much (or anything) about commercial codes, so if it is true, disregard everything below.

But that is NOT true for residential electricity. You can have 15A receptacles on a 20 breaker and be totally legal and code compliant. Only stipulation is you MUST have more than one 15A device if they are on 20A OCP.

You are correct about the 12g conductors on 20A OCP...that's a must.
__________________
Jim P.
jproffer is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 10:12 PM   #37
solar guy
 
naptown CR's Avatar
 
Trade: solar contracting
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Annapolis Md
Posts: 1,917
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Five Arrows View Post
I have my pilot's license but can someone tell me should I push the steering wheel thingie forward or pull it back in California to go up?
the wheelie thingie has little to do with going up, that is done with the throttle the good thing is if you pull the wheelie thing up for long enough eventually you will to go down
__________________
Catching sunbeams and putting them to work
WWW.solarsaves.net
[email protected]
naptown CR is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 10:13 PM   #38
Electrical Contractor
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY State
Posts: 2,411
Rewards Points: 1,244

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by splice View Post
You can put a 15 amp recpt. on a circuit that is fed by 12-gauge your ocp must be 15 amp to answer your question
Are you in Canada, because this is NOT the code in the US if there are two or more receptacles on a circuit. For clarity, a duplex receptacle is two receptacles.

See NEC Table 210.21(B)(3)
__________________

Speedy Petey is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 10:23 PM   #39
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,409
Rewards Points: 18

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by splice View Post
You can put a 15 amp recpt. on a circuit that is fed by 12-gauge .....
You can put a 15a receptacle on a circuit that is fed with 2000 kcmil for all we care....

Quote:
Originally Posted by splice View Post
.....your ocp must be 15 amp to answer your question
The receptacles do not dictate the OCD rating. It's the other way around.
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
Old 12-20-2010, 01:12 AM   #40
jack of all trades
 
one man show's Avatar
 
Trade: general
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75

Re: 20 Amp Receptacle Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by oquist View Post
Is a 20 amp receptacle needed in a 20 amp circuit, I assume it is with 12 ga. wire, but I see 15 amp installed all the time, and Depot doesnt sell them in 10 packs.

only required if it is a dedicated circuit

Advertisement

one man show is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question from lawyer trying to help contractor scp Business 52 02-25-2011 01:23 AM
Question for GC re: rough/final cleans britanie General Discussion 6 06-07-2009 06:42 PM
Contract question MACEXCAVATING Excavation & Site Work 4 12-20-2008 09:24 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?