2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage - Electrical - Contractor Talk

2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 03:30 PM   #1
Pro
 
pitterpat's Avatar
 
Trade: HandyWOMAN
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 79

2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


Moved into a new house for me...built in 1956. It has 100 amp service, GE Powermark Gold Load center the garage. I want to add more outlets to my garage (only 1 outlet now) and need to add more. Also the garage it self is on the breaker that says furnace (I'm sure it is because I turned off furnace breaker before restarting furnace).

I have two breakers that are labeled spare, a 15 & 20 amp breaker. I would like to add 5-6 outlets to my garage. Should I use the 15 or the 20 amp breaker....also I am thinking that I should take the garage off the Furnace breaker (15a) and put on the breaker with the other garage outlets. The wiring for the garage has 2 double switches, a grounded outlet,2 exterior lights, garage door opener plugged into one of the outlets and the power to the other 16' x 22' garage which has 2 outlets, garage door opener, 2 interior lights and 1 exterior light on a daylight sensor.
__________________
Pat Harris
A HandyWOMAN Service, LLC
"Why call a handyman when you can call A HandyWOMAN?
pitterpat is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-12-2012, 03:59 PM   #2
Pro
 
TxElectrician's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 6,566
Rewards Points: 2,068

Re: 2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


for 5 or 6 general purpose outlets, your wire size will determine which breaker to use

Advertisement

TxElectrician is online now  
Old 05-12-2012, 04:23 PM   #3
Pro
 
pitterpat's Avatar
 
Trade: HandyWOMAN
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 79

Re: 2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by TxElectrician View Post
for 5 or 6 general purpose outlets, your wire size will determine which breaker to use
I generally use 12 gauge...but could use 14 to save the 20 amp to use for the other garage. I have a compressor that I'm going to have an electrician run additional power to that garage for the compressor.
__________________
Pat Harris
A HandyWOMAN Service, LLC
"Why call a handyman when you can call A HandyWOMAN?
pitterpat is offline  
   
 
Old 05-12-2012, 09:09 PM   #4
Handymen are people too
 
realelectrician's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 403
Rewards Points: 356

Re: 2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by pitterpat View Post
I generally use 12 gauge...but could use 14 to save the 20 amp to use for the other garage. I have a compressor that I'm going to have an electrician run additional power to that garage for the compressor.
To be honest it does not sound like you are qualified to do this type of work.
realelectrician is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 09:26 PM   #5
Pro
 
pitterpat's Avatar
 
Trade: HandyWOMAN
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 79

Re: 2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by realelectrician View Post
To be honest it does not sound like you are qualified to do this type of work.
Thanks for the help.
__________________
Pat Harris
A HandyWOMAN Service, LLC
"Why call a handyman when you can call A HandyWOMAN?
pitterpat is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 10:03 PM   #6
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,489
Rewards Points: 2,805

Re: 2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


Pat, your description is a bit confusing, though I know you tried not to make it so. Whichever breaker you use, a half-dozen points of use would be fine--though in a garage, I would go with 20A because of the likelihood of high-current devices.

With 12 gauge wire, you can use either breaker.
Tinstaafl is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tinstaafl For This Useful Post:
MALCO.New.York (05-14-2012)
Old 05-12-2012, 10:33 PM   #7
Box Builder
 
Morning Wood's Avatar
 
Trade: Pretty much anything with wood and some metals
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 5,840
Rewards Points: 9,244

Re: 2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


I would use both spares for your garage, and the furnace should be solo on its own breaker. If you are using tools, it's good to split the loads when running things together, like vacuum and table saw.

I don't think 14 gauge wire and 20 amp plugs and breaker are recommended.
Morning Wood is offline  
Old 05-12-2012, 11:20 PM   #8
Pro
 
pitterpat's Avatar
 
Trade: HandyWOMAN
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 79

Re: 2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Morning Wood View Post
I would use both spares for your garage, and the furnace should be solo on its own breaker. If you are using tools, it's good to split the loads when running things together, like vacuum and table saw.

I don't think 14 gauge wire and 20 amp plugs and breaker are recommended.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinstaafl
Whichever breaker you use, a half-dozen points of use would be fine--though in a garage, I would go with 20A because of the likelihood of high-current devices.
Thanks guys, you both have some good points about high current devices, probably won't use in this garage but worth considering. I have another 16' x 22' garage that I plan on using the high current devices in. Thanks, I still have to sort out what I'm going to do.
__________________
Pat Harris
A HandyWOMAN Service, LLC
"Why call a handyman when you can call A HandyWOMAN?
pitterpat is offline  
Old 05-13-2012, 02:58 PM   #9
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,707
Rewards Points: 10,982

Re: 2 Spare Breakers 15 & 20a, Want To Wire Outlets In Garage


The only way to properly address this is to do a load calculation.

Advertisement

__________________
Due to circumstances beyond my control, I am here.
480sparky is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
MALCO.New.York (05-14-2012)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage slab 20' X 20' edge concerns HHC Concrete & Paving 35 08-10-2018 10:51 AM
Can someone give me a generic estimate on this garage? lman22 General Discussion 3 03-12-2012 12:14 PM
Garage problems.... nwksremodeler Remodeling 29 05-12-2010 02:55 PM
Kitchen - use 20A GFCI at start w/ 15A outlets??? tmdelisle Electrical 25 07-28-2009 12:38 AM
How many Breakers in a panel robertc65 Electrical 2 02-21-2006 02:09 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?