2 Questions, Arc Fault & Light Feed - Electrical - Contractor Talk

2 Questions, Arc Fault & Light Feed

Old 12-22-2008, 07:44 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: Remodel / repairs / Certified Mold inspector, Remediator
Rewards Points: 250

2 Questions, Arc Fault & Light Feed

Arc fault breakers:
I'm not an electrician or pretend to be, growing up I was lucky to have been able to work with an Uncle who was an electrician whenever he needed me to work with him. That was over 30 years ago. I've wired my own houses I built earlier in life, ect.

Today, different story, to many changes.
To the 1st question, arc fault breakers
The past few years I have noticed at Lowes when purchasing a new breaker or misc electrical parts, they now sell so many arc fault breakers.
Reading the package, (in short), they seem to be for accidents if drilling in walls & stricking a wire with a drill bit. I'm sure there is more but just as an example.
While working at a customers house last year, I had to temp tap in one of their sub panels, (needed 220 for my compressor), that was added in the garage for outdoor items, fountain, sprinklers, ect.
I noticed an arcfault installed for the outdoor water fountain. I never questioned it, don;t even know if correct or not, but know it was hooked up by a lisc electrician. (not going to mention the company's name, but is a liget business here).
Can arc fault be used for outdoor / wet applications?

2nd question, feeding a room light off an outlet.
Question is: because it is allowed is this why it is typically always done? Or is this the best way today because of not being a saftey hazzard any more do to improved lighting and wires as well as breakers being more sensitive?
I know this is legal and used in so many homes, if not all today.
Uncle has long passed away, so unable to discuss this with him & one of them questions I just never recall when speaking an electrician.