Some Tool Reviews - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Some Tool Reviews

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2008, 10:35 PM   #1
Pro
 
d's's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernie, B.C.
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75

Some Tool Reviews


Hey guys,

I've just returned from picking up a bunch of ebay and all-wall purchases so thought I'd list them and give some reviews as I try them out.


No-Coat corner bead hopper
dewalt cordless router, gun, vacuum, 6.5" circ saw
dewalt tool bags
2 nano batteries
Some rubber cupped thing on a handle for doing offangles - so weird I had to try it
4ft Darby
Radius 360 sanding pads and extension pole
Bucket tool organizer
Wal-Board bucket knife/scoop
Wal-Board mud paddle mixer (contoured design)

No-Coat bead hopper - Previously I had settled on using a exterior corner knife and a hawk to mud the corners before beading them which has worked well for a couple of years. Cheap, simple, effective tools. Had also tried using an exterior corner applicator on my mud tube but that was messy and sucked($50 in the garbage). I ran about 30 beads through the new hopper today - mixture of short and long 90's, offsets, and no-coat beads. I was impressed how quick it was and how evenly and cleanly they rolled out with less material to wipe and on the floor. It worked well with AP and quickset compounds. Clean up with outdoor spray nozzle was required but pretty quick. Definitely increases productivity if doing over a dozen beads. Two thumbs up!!!

Wal-board bucket knife/scoop - novelty item - use your 4-5", or hands instead.

4 foot Darby - Awesome - no more improvising with bits of trim or bead when floating out columns, big patches. Very easy to handle on the wall and keep clean. Must have!

Dewalt 21" tool bag - this zippered top bag opens wide - 3 screwguns, 2 routers, 4 batteries and a charger have moved in with smaller accessories in the built in pouches. The old bulky plastic cases are now in the trash. Saves room in the truck and easy to pack up and transport. $8 on ebay!

Nano batteries - Am I really holding a battery right now! Crazy how light they are but still waiting to see how long they last. Still fits all the older version 18v tools and size difference is no biggie but look flash in the new bases. $70 each on ebay

That's all for now...

D'S
d's is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-01-2008, 02:22 PM   #2
Butt Expert
 
Brocktologist's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 278
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Some Tool Reviews


Thanks for the review!

I have been meaning to pick up a Darby for a few years now but forget every time I'm at a store that might sell them.

Advertisement

Brocktologist is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:28 AM   #3
drywaller
 
Mudshark's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall Finisher
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Some Tool Reviews


Glad you are enjoying your new bead box. Yes they do work great!

I hear ya on the messy outside corner applicator. Seem we all have a few of those types of tools we experimented with and now seldom use.
Mudshark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2009, 11:50 AM   #4
 
b2dap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Some Tool Reviews


Thanks for the info. I've been considering one of those Darbys too!
b2dap is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 07:37 PM   #5
Pro
 
A+ Texture's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall, Modulars, Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 172

Re: Some Tool Reviews


I went to all-wall and searched "darby" and nothing came up. Clue me in fella!
A+ Texture is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 10:31 AM   #6
Pro
 
Muddauber's Avatar
 
Trade: drywall
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kentucky/USA
Posts: 301
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Some Tool Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by A+ Texture View Post
I went to all-wall and searched "darby" and nothing came up. Clue me in fella!

A darby is used for leveling out base coat plaster.

The old ones my dad used were a piece of hardwood about 4' long with a handle like on a hawk.

Check Goldblatt tools.

I think there may still be some old darby's in moms basement. I'll have to check & see.
Muddauber is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 08:11 PM   #7
Pro
 
A+ Texture's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall, Modulars, Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 172

Re: Some Tool Reviews


Ok, I think I got ya. When doing repairs or modulars with off seams I've used 12" knives and metal curtain hangers to float the mud out. But what is the darby listed as at all-wall?
A+ Texture is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 09:32 PM   #8
Pro
 
Tim0282's Avatar
 
Trade: drywall contractor
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Some Tool Reviews


Try Warehouse Bay in the plaster tools section. Haven't seen them in All Wall.
Tim0282 is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:55 PM   #9
Pro
 
d's's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernie, B.C.
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Some Tool Reviews


In the categories column they're listed under taping hand tools > feather edge drywall darbies
d's is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 03:35 PM   #10
Pro
 
Tim0282's Avatar
 
Trade: drywall contractor
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Some Tool Reviews


38.00 for a four inch and 54.00 for a six inch.
all-wall.com/ taping hand tools.
Tim0282 is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 11:45 PM   #11
Pro
 
A+ Texture's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall, Modulars, Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 172

Re: Some Tool Reviews


Finally found them, all-wall spells them "darbie" and warehouse spelled it "darby". Thats a pretty cool tool, I've always improvised mine, I think I'll have to get one. Are they pretty rigid or do they have some flex to them?
A+ Texture is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 12:02 PM   #12
Pro
 
d's's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernie, B.C.
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Some Tool Reviews


100% ridgid. I use it with setting compound to get large fills back to flat. Great for columns, large patches, nasty framing cover-ups, etc...

Advertisement

d's is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tool storage SES Constructio General Discussion 55 08-18-2010 08:53 PM
Tool repair service bert0168 General Discussion 4 10-22-2008 12:43 AM
Best tool companies Mystic General Discussion 25 10-19-2008 11:55 AM
looking for a special tool AustinDB Carpentry 11 09-04-2008 10:56 PM
FEEDBACK: Online Survey Tool Nathan Off Topic (Non Trade) 9 08-29-2006 05:20 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?