Sheetrock To Plaster - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Sheetrock To Plaster

Old 06-20-2018, 05:35 AM   #1

Trade: electrician by trade, general contractor, cabinet maker
Rewards Points: 100

Sheetrock To Plaster

I did some searching but not a lot. I'll be honest with that upfront.

I've got a job coming up where some of the existing plaster is staying and some is being replace with Sheetrock (remodel job, walls moved, etc).

There is a hallway where plaster will meet drywall. Naturally studs behind drywall will have to be firred out.

With all of that said, how do y'all go about taping to plaster. In the past I've always cleaned up plaster, roughed the edge for the durabond to hold better, and used paper tape. Maybe I need to keep doing that. Maybe I need to implement a new way.

So, what do y'all do/recommend.

Thanks for your time and for any and all replies.

Will
The Following User Says Thank You to zukinut For This Useful Post:
sparehair (06-21-2018)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 06-20-2018, 07:06 AM   #2
John the Builder

Trade: Carpenter/Builder Professional Painter
Rewards Points: 4,086

Re: Sheetrock To Plaster

Sounds good to me.

Advertisement

Old 06-20-2018, 09:06 AM   #3
Drywall & Painting Pro

Trade: Licensed Florida Drywall and Painting Contractor
Rewards Points: 3,431

I prime the plaster with Plaster Weld for these types of situations.

TextureMaster.com
Checkout my YouTube Channel with 53,000 Subscribers and over 9,500,000 Views
https://www.youtube.com/paulpeck

Twitter Facebook Google+ Instagram
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sir Mixalot For This Useful Post: