Patching Over Semi Gloss Oil Based Paint - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Patching Over Semi Gloss Oil Based Paint

Old 07-14-2018, 01:55 PM   #1

Trade: electrician by trade, general contractor, cabinet maker
Rewards Points: 100

Patching Over Semi Gloss Oil Based Paint

I have to repair the ceiling in a customers indoor pool "house". The ceilings are painted with an oil based semi gloss paint. Do I need to prime the ceiling patch area with guardz or pro block or something else, or am I ok to just clean it and patch?

I've always primed the painted area with pro block, the damaged area with guardz and then do my mudding, but I wanted to ask the pros what they reccomend.

Thanks again for all the help.

Will

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-14-2018, 08:03 PM   #2
Drywall & Painting Pro

Trade: Licensed Florida Drywall and Painting Contractor
Rewards Points: 3,431

Re: Patching Over Semi Gloss Oil Based Paint

Quote:
Originally Posted by zukinut View Post
I have to repair the ceiling in a customers indoor pool "house". The ceilings are painted with an oil based semi gloss paint. Do I need to prime the ceiling patch area with guardz or pro block or something else, or am I ok to just clean it and patch?

I've always primed the painted area with pro block, the damaged area with gaurdz and then do my mudding, but I wanted to ask the pros what they reccomend.

Will
I always prime oil around the perimeter of the repair with a Kilz or BIN spray can. Unless it's a big area I'll roll it out. Gardz works great on regular ceilings. Except when there's water stains, then I'll hit it with one of the oil base stain blocking primers.