Opinions, Yeah Yours - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Opinions, Yeah Yours

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2006, 06:18 PM   #1
ContractorTalk Flunkie
 
dayspring's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling and Renovation Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Murphy, NC Hometown of Eric Rudolf
Posts: 1,038
Rewards Points: 500

Opinions, Yeah Yours


Ok, the guys that work for me got into an argument or maybe just a simple disagreement on the right way (proper pattern and number of fasteners per stud) to fasten drywall to a 16" center wood stud wall.
I told them I would let you guys settle it. I've always used 7 in field (one top, bottom and center, then two close together halfway between the center and top/bottom edges, 8 on the ends. Thats how I had them fasten it. Is that over kill? They both had much less, but different patterns
__________________
T.C.
"Never met a man yet that I couldn't learn something from"
Met a few you couldn't teach though
http://remodelingncarolina.com
dayspring is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 04-04-2006, 06:46 PM   #2
unlicensed hack
 
maj's Avatar
 
Trade: wood butcher
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Pole
Posts: 1,087
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


For ceilings, I use five in the field.. Walls are four in the field..

Advertisement

maj is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:59 PM   #3
ContractorTalk Flunkie
 
dayspring's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling and Renovation Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Murphy, NC Hometown of Eric Rudolf
Posts: 1,038
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


does that include top and bottom?
__________________
T.C.
"Never met a man yet that I couldn't learn something from"
Met a few you couldn't teach though
http://remodelingncarolina.com
dayspring is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2006, 07:07 PM   #4
Pro
 
Joasis's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hennessey, Oklahoma
Posts: 9,287
Rewards Points: 4,388

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


We screw the ceiling rock, 4 or 5 in the field + edges. Walls are nailed 5 per stud. Just us.
Joasis is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:10 PM   #5
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 66

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


Assume you mean hanging horizontal?

Walls: from bottom up...zero, 6", 18", 30", 42", 48" (obviously zero and 48 are not really zero and 48....just close to the edges, then 6 away from both edges, then a foot 2 times in the center.

Ceiling: zero, 8", 16", 24", 32", 40", 48"

and No I don't measure it, just eyeball it like everyone else in the free world.
__________________
Jim P.

Last edited by jproffer; 04-04-2006 at 07:12 PM.
jproffer is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:12 PM   #6
unlicensed hack
 
maj's Avatar
 
Trade: wood butcher
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Pole
Posts: 1,087
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


Quote:
Originally Posted by dayspring
does that include top and bottom?
Yep, One top, one bottom, one middle, one in between...on ceilings with 1 5/8" screws

Walls are one top, one bottom, two in between... 1 1/4" screws

That's what everyone around here does, it may be different somewhere else.

These are in the field only......On butt edges, we are every 8-10 inches

Last edited by maj; 04-04-2006 at 07:14 PM.
maj is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Redman's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling/Painting
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: TPCconstruction.net
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


I always used 12" spacing in the field and 8" spacing on the ends. that seams to be the norm around here. I don't change any of the spacing for walls or ceiling. I just use bigger screws on ceiling or 5/8" rock.
__________________
One day at a Time.
Redman is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:38 PM   #8
Pro
 
IHI's Avatar
 
Trade: General construction and remodeling
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Waterloo, IA.
Posts: 2,408
Rewards Points: 1,040

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


I've always used 3" screws, the longer length has better holding power so you dont need any in the feild-just one in the top and the other in the bottom....saves time and money. If your hardcore you can get away with using adhesive on each stud and only using 1 screw at the top...the shear weight of the board will press itself into the studs/adhesive so no bottom screw is needed...but applying adhesivve takes time and extra money for cases of adhesive so I only do that on high end jobs $1M homes and up, the rest is just 2 screws per stud-even on butts.











IHI is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Redman's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling/Painting
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: TPCconstruction.net
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


3" Screws ?, Aren't You Worried About Hitting Wires/pipes That Might Be Running Throught The Stud Or Joyce.
__________________
One day at a Time.
Redman is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:49 PM   #10
unlicensed hack
 
maj's Avatar
 
Trade: wood butcher
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Pole
Posts: 1,087
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


Quote:
Originally Posted by IHI
I've always used 3" screws, the longer length has better holding power so you dont need any in the feild-just one in the top and the other in the bottom....saves time and money. If your hardcore you can get away with using adhesive on each stud and only using 1 screw at the top...the shear weight of the board will press itself into the studs/adhesive so no bottom screw is needed...but applying adhesivve takes time and extra money for cases of adhesive so I only do that on high end jobs $1M homes and up, the rest is just 2 screws per stud-even on butts.

IHI......... Do you realize this is why we (in Iowa) have a reputation for being contractors that don't deserve the right to be called contractors???

Or did you finally pass that test??!!??
maj is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:51 PM   #11
unlicensed hack
 
maj's Avatar
 
Trade: wood butcher
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Pole
Posts: 1,087
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


Quote:
Originally Posted by Redman
3" Screws ?, Aren't You Worried About Hitting Wires/pipes That Might Be Running Throught The Stud Or Joyce.

No, Joyce is in the other room...
maj is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:01 PM   #12
Pro
 
IHI's Avatar
 
Trade: General construction and remodeling
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Waterloo, IA.
Posts: 2,408
Rewards Points: 1,040

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


LOL, Redman your right!! I never gave joyce a thought, now it's adhesive only for me.

Just like I'll never understand why roofers nail down shingles when they could just as easily use the peel and stick method by removing the clear strip on the back side....you boys make too much work for yourselves.



















Oh, this is'nt april 1 anymore is it
IHI is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:02 PM   #13
ContractorTalk Flunkie
 
dayspring's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling and Renovation Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Murphy, NC Hometown of Eric Rudolf
Posts: 1,038
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


OK, I have seen the method I described at the begininning of this thread used many times here in the Southeast. I always use screws.
Always run it horizonal. However, If I interpeted the code correct it does say, 1/2' rock. 16" centers should be no less than 8" on edges and 12" in the field. Just doesn't seem to be enough.
__________________
T.C.
"Never met a man yet that I couldn't learn something from"
Met a few you couldn't teach though
http://remodelingncarolina.com
dayspring is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 12:04 AM   #14
Pro
 
theworx's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter by trade, lead man for commercial GC...
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 938
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


IHI, great. Now I have to deal with you trying to make beer squirt out my nose !! Keep it up!!
theworx is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 12:15 AM   #15
Pro
 
theworx's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter by trade, lead man for commercial GC...
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 938
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


If you are running horizontal and you say the code calls for a screw every 8" on the edges (I'm assuming you're talking the bevels) I will also have to assume that you are either using a lot of backing material or that the wall has backing framed into it. Is that correct??
theworx is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 12:48 AM   #16
Member
 
Redman's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling/Painting
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: TPCconstruction.net
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


no, 8" only on the non beveled ends of the sheets. Bevels edge will only be screwed off every 16".

Redman
__________________
One day at a Time.
Redman is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 01:07 AM   #17
Pro
 
theworx's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter by trade, lead man for commercial GC...
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 938
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


Quote:
Originally Posted by Redman
no, 8" only on the non beveled ends of the sheets. Bevels edge will only be screwed off every 16".

Redman
Sorry man, my question was directed to Dayspring. Just want to clarify what he's posting. Not looking for advice (I've been boarding for 20 years). By the way you are correct in what you've said in this thread .
theworx is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 04:20 AM   #18
ContractorTalk Flunkie
 
dayspring's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling and Renovation Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Murphy, NC Hometown of Eric Rudolf
Posts: 1,038
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


Redman is correct. However the USG website suggest it nailed every eight inches, everywhere for walls and they do also suggest double nailing, especially on ceilings. Reference:

http://usg.com/navigate.do?document=...tion_guide.pdf

PAGE #11
__________________
T.C.
"Never met a man yet that I couldn't learn something from"
Met a few you couldn't teach though
http://remodelingncarolina.com
dayspring is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 08:45 PM   #19
Pro
 
theworx's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter by trade, lead man for commercial GC...
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 938
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


Thanx for clarifying (had me slightly confused, which is easy to do , when you said 8" on the edge). To me the edge is the bevel and the butt is the end. Our code requires a min. 2 screws in the field and every 8" on butts for walls and three screws in the field and every 8" on the butts for ceilings. We are required to use screws (no nails). Our usual way of doing it.

Have had inspectors request that I double screw my ceilings too!! A little extra work but I tack that on as an extra.

Do you guys float your butt joints (with a backer) or do you cut your sheets to hit studs and joists???
theworx is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 03:43 PM   #20
Registered User
 
mistersmooth's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and Painting
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Opinions, Yeah Yours


Has anyone ever put a screw in thier leg while hanging drywall? Um, OUCH! You kind of have to un screw it to get it out. Double ouch!

Advertisement

mistersmooth is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Opinions On Our New Website Prostaff Technology 22 06-12-2007 07:15 PM
Opinions on Job Switch 68ss396 General Discussion 12 06-11-2007 09:15 AM
Opinions of ''free'' work to enter new markets mharrold Marketing & Sales 13 05-19-2007 03:41 PM
here's other version headers - flyer - opinions wanted dirt diggler Marketing & Sales 29 02-12-2007 11:12 PM
Crown Moulding in Joist Bays, opinions. 415moto Finish Carpentry 7 11-15-2006 08:24 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?