Obtuse Ceiling Joints And Bubbles In Mudd - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Obtuse Ceiling Joints And Bubbles In Mudd

Old 03-03-2006, 06:11 PM   #1
Livin the dream...

Trade: Finish Carpentry
Rewards Points: 5,514

Obtuse Ceiling Joints And Bubbles In Mudd

Did my first solo job this past week. Time and material for mudding 2 rooms. (50x20 and 12x8)

Anyway now that I have some experience I have some questions.

When mixing my mudd after getting about 1/2 way through a bucket of all purpose premixed compound I would start to get bubbles and occasionally little junks of dry mudd in the mudd I was trying to put on. I do add water because I like it a little thinner. I was just wondering what you pros do to keep your mudd nice and smooth. I was mixing with a drill and stirrer that may be meant for paint.

On the ceiling \_/ I had obtuse joints. What is the best way to do them? I nearly cried today when I saw they made a corner trowel that rotates from 88-155 degrees, but there isn't much I can do about it now.

Also, I have read on other posts that fiberglass mesh is a no no on butt joints unless you use hot mudd. Is it really that big of a deal. I have seen a pro use it everywhere but corners and he was using all purpose premixed compound.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-03-2006, 06:58 PM   #2
Professional Remodeler

Trade: Remodeling Contractor
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Obtuse Ceiling Joints And Bubbles In Mudd

Hi Spencer,

The bubbles usually come from mixing the mud to agressivly- to fast a speed on the drill. A couple pros I know only use the manual mixer that looks like a potato masher