Lots Of Questions About Drywall And Bathrooms - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Lots Of Questions About Drywall And Bathrooms

Old 02-18-2006, 01:54 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Lots Of Questions About Drywall And Bathrooms

Hi everyone! I am a first time poster but have lurked here for a while! I am a novice when it comes to drywall but am willing to try anything. This is a great forum and everyone seems very helpful! Enough butt kissing.

I have three questions about hanging drywall in a small 5' x 10' full basement bathroom. I am installing a tub with a shower head. My first question is, can I transition hardi backer to green drywall about 6" away from the tub and overlap the first columm of tiles over the drywall and hardi backer? I want the paint to go on the drywall but not the hardi backer. Second, should I use plastic on the walls that are along the concrete foundation wall? I am using R9 insulation with a vapor barrier along the same wall but I wanted to stop any drafts if possible. I think one of the posts I read on this site said not to use plastic, and another said to use plastic. Just trying to find out the best way. Third, another post on this site stated not to use greenboard on the ceiling of the bathroom. It would eventually sag due to it's own weight. I have already put greenboard on the ceiling above the tub and glued it but I am willing to take it down and put something better up.

That's alot of questions but thanks in advance. Be kind, I am new at this.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 02-18-2006, 02:14 PM   #2
Custom Builder

Trade: From dirt to ridge vent
Rewards Points: 2,000