Finishing Questions - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Finishing Questions

Old 03-11-2005, 09:58 PM   #1
Remodeler

Trade: Remodeler
Rewards Points: 502
Question

Finishing Questions

I've been working with drywall for many years on projects. Really self taught and never had anyone with real knowledge teach me. I get by but it seems to take me forever finish. Now that I'm in the remodeling business I would like some pointers from you pros. If you wouldn't mind that is.
What is the proper way to handle a taping knife? 45 degrees? Heavy pressure? This might sound stupid and there might not be a simple answer but how do you work both sides of a corner without marking the first side. I have tried a corner knife but it seemed like a waist of time.
I read here and other places about hot mud. I generally use all purpose for taping and light for top coats. I gather hot mud is stronger and quicker drying?
When I apply the tape, I put a smooth layer of mud down lay the tape, run my knife over it to set it and then put a fine coat over the tape. Is the correct?
Thanks for any pointers you guys might offer. Time is money and I need more time
I will never leave you hanging!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-14-2005, 01:17 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 25

Re: Finishing Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by MinConst
What is the proper way to handle a taping knife? 45 degrees? Heavy pressure?