Drywall Vs Plaster - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Drywall Vs Plaster

Old 11-07-2009, 08:35 PM   #1

Trade: Carpenter
Rewards Points: 10

Drywall Vs Plaster

I'm bidding on a bathroom remodel job.
The house has all plaster walls. The homeowner wants the plaster taken out of the bathroom and replaced with green board and Durock. There is no sign of any cracks in the plaster so I tried to convince her to leave it alone.

They have PLASTIC tile halfway up the walls.

I'm not experienced in plaster work. What am I getting myself into if I decide to break out the plaster and lathe? I know the studs will be unevenly spaced.

Should I walk away from this job?

Thanks

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 11-07-2009, 08:49 PM   #2
New Guy

Trade: Plaster/Drywall

Re: Drywall Vs Plaster

Sounds like a big can of worms to me. If there is no way to know what's behind the plaster you may want to do a time + materials... could be easy, probably be a mess though. We're redoing a 19th century house right now what started as a simple patch turned into a 3 coat resurfacing w/ new wood lath and everything.

Advertisement

Old 11-07-2009, 08:55 PM   #3

Trade: Residential remodeling
Rewards Points: 41